Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Sudden Response by R. L. Mathewson

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Sudden Response
EMS #1

R. L. Mathewson
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2011

H/h - Eric Parish/Josephine aka Joe (?)
Setting: Present time.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

Hmm, what to write... Let’s see. This book was ok but not very thought provoking for me. Sudden Response is the 1st book of EMS series by R. L. Mathewson. I’ve never read a medical romance before so I thought the EMS part of the book was quite interesting. I didn’t find the information boring; rather thought RLM knows her stuff while I read it. It could’ve been good since it had RLM’s humorous, sometimes silly dialogues/scenes but I didn’t find the main characters that interesting. More often than not, I thought they were being immature or selfish or plain mean to other people. *sigh* I’ll try to explain as I go.

A Very Sinful Valentine by Charlotte Featherstone

Monday, February 27, 2012

A Very Sinful Valentine
A followup of Sinful, A Valentine's Day special for the fans

Charlotte Featherstone
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2012

H/h - Matthew, the Duke of Torrington/Jane, the Duchess of Torrington
Setting: 5/6 years after Sinful.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

                                                                [spoiler alert]

Holy f*ck!

Perfection by R. L. Mathewson

Sunday, February 26, 2012

Perfection
A Neighbor from Hell #2

R. L. Mathewson
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2011

H/h - Trevor Bradford/Zoe O’Shea
Setting: Present time.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

                                                    [spoiler alert]

This book tried my patience more than once. I just couldn’t love it as much as I loved Playing for Keeps. Perfection wasn’t perfect in any sense but I don’t always look for perfection in a book, yet the characters and the storyline of this book I didn’t enjoy as much as I thought I would. It had the much adorable Bradfords, their funny antics, their foods and RLM’s usual humor, which is what, IMO, saved this book for me. Otherwise, I don’t know... It couldn’t be more than a 3-3.5 star in my scale.

Playing for Keeps by R. L. Mathewson

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Playing for Keeps
A Neighbor from Hell #1

R. L. Mathewson
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2011

H/h - Jason Bradford/Haley Blaine
Setting: Present time.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

     
                                             [spoiler alert]

It feels great when I download a ‘free’ book from an unknown author to find it something really good. Playing for Keeps was just that. R. L Mathewson totally won me over with her grand humor, witty dialogues and not to mention the adorably sexy (big baby :p) Jason and lovable Haley. The word is ‘love’ here because I soo totally loooooooooved this book and I might go on and repeat the same thing over and over again so please bear with me.

Kidnapped for Christmas by Evangeline Anderson

Monday, February 20, 2012

Kidnapped for Christmas

Evangeline Anderson
Contemporary Romance/Erotica (light BDSM)
Published in 2008

H/h - Kyle Stephens/Jillian Marks
Setting: Present time.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:


                                                                       [spoiler alert]

Really, when was the last time I rated a book 2 stars? Hm... maybe last year. I like to believe that I’m quite liberal when it comes to rating a book. I try to think hard before I rate one, be rational/reasonable because love it or hate it, I respect an author for his/her work. But this book? I didn’t have to do a lot of thinking, at all. It was so full of moronic activities by the H and h (and h’s super moronic, insensitive and self-centered younger sister) that the whole read for me was a big eye role and a waste of time. Even hot sex couldn’t save this one for me. I’m just glad it was a short story and took me a few hours to finish. I’m sorry but this review is probably going to be a rant more than a review.

Masks by Evangeline Anderson

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Masks (novella)
A free installment

Evangeline Anderson
Contemporary Romance/Erotica
Published in 2005


H/h - Mark Jacobs/Chloe
Setting: Present time.


Read in Feb, 2012.

My rating:
                                                     
                                                    [spoiler alert]

Masks was my 1st try of Evangeline Anderson and I think it was a sweet novella. The problem, if that’s what I can call it, was the character of Zoe who was pretty annoying. Also, it being a novella, I felt things were a bit rushed. Other than that, I liked it and EA’s writing style.

With this Kiss by Victoria Lynne

Saturday, February 18, 2012

With this Kiss

Victoria Lynne
Historical Romance
Originally published in 1999

H/h - Morgan St. James, Viscount Barlowe/Julia Prentisse
Setting: London, 1857.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

                                                         [spoiler alert]

I’ve never heard of Victoria Lynne before I got With this Kiss. Boy, I’m glad that I’ve read this book which made me an instant fan of hers. With this Kiss was an intense book with a touch of murder/psycho mystery going on in it. The writing was amazing, loved it. I’m a new VL fan for sure!

Four Kisses by Bonnie Dee

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Four Kisses (novella)
A free installment

Bonnie Dee
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2011

H/h - Drake Malinson/Jen Adams
Setting: Present day.

Read in Feb, 2012.
My rating:

                                                          [spoiler alert]

Oh good God! Why did it end so soon? It could’ve been such an ah-meh-zing novel, instead of a novella! I’m still in a haze. I had Four Kisses in my TBR for sometimes now. It was simply a perfect Valentine’s Day read for me, just finished it in an hour as I couldn’t put it down. The story itself was very beautiful, about two people meeting in different phases of their lives and exchanging a kiss (or kisses) every time they met.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. My blog Punya Reviews just turned 6 in 2017 and still going strong. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation