Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Marriage of Mercy by Carla Kelly

Saturday, March 25, 2017

Marriage of Mercy

Carla Kelly
Historical Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Rob Inman/Grace Curtis
Setting: Early 1800s.

Read in March, 2017.
My rating:

                                                  [spoiler alert] 

Another Carla Kelly book I picked up cause I was intrigued by the blurb. I generally don’t read reviews of her books before reading, where in most cases I wanna check the reviews first before picking up a book. Marriage of Mercy was no different. I like to enjoy Ms. Kelly’s books as it is, then decide whether I liked it or not.

Marriage of Mercy is another sweet story between a baker and an American prisoner of war. Even though for the first 60% the book was rather ho hum, the story picked up after that and the twist at the end pretty much had me there. I was wondering what the hell was happening, cause I didn’t expect any of that!

Grace or as everyone calls her, Gracie, has fallen far. From a Baronet’s daughter to a baker, not a good thing for someone whose father was once considered a peer of the realm, even if a penniless peer. Grace’s father didn’t like to bother with finances and never cared to manage however small a fortune he had, hence, when he passed away, he left his only child under a huge debt and no one to help her out of that. Her mother passed on long ago, so Grace finds herself without any money, any help, and pretty much out of her mansion only with the clothes on her back when the mansion, and everything else were sold out to clear the debt. But she isn’t the type to whine and cry. Gracie knew early on that she doesn’t have a shining future because of what a spendthrift her father was. And she hated it! She tried to make him understand and work with her so they can save some for the future, HER future. But Henry Curtis was baffled as to why she’d even bother to think of money, or earning money TBH, when they’re peers of the realm! And working to earn is so crass a thought! *eyeroll*

Release Blitz and Giveaway: Cut Wide Open by Abby McCarthy

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Today I'm hosting a promo on Abby McCarthy's latest MC romance, Cut Wide Open (Bleeding Scars MC #1), as a part of the ongoing release blitz. Also find an excerpt and some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a signed paperback (US ONLY) or ebook of Cut Wide Open or a $5 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below. Note that this book is free on kindle unlimited!!
Cut Wide Open
Abby McCarthy 
(Bleeding Scars MC #1)
Published: March 20, 2017
Goodreads Button with Shadow
One day you held my hand. One day you loved me.
Then you were gone.

At sixteen, I lost the only love I’d ever known. Thrown back into the foster system, pregnant and alone, I prayed that you’d come for me and save me from life’s cruelties. Only the next time I saw you, it was too late.

Doing what I needed to do to provide for my son, we were finally brought face to face. It should have been the best day of my life, but it was far from it. It was the worst.

That day a monster took me and held me captive. 

I begged for my life. I prayed for my son. I dreamt of you, the memories keeping me alive.

You finally came for me. You were my heart. My Salvation. 

But sometimes the heart is too damaged, too broken, to be saved.
And sometimes monsters have a way of coming back to haunt me.

*This is a dark story. It is intended for mature audiences. If you need a trigger warning then this book isn’t for you. I have other books of mine that I’d recommend like Current or Tainted by Crazy, but not this one.

Buy Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | KOBO | iBooks

Book Blast and Giveaway: Second Chance Marquess by Jessica Jefferson

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

I'm hosting a promo on Jessica Jefferson's latest historical romance release, Second Chance Marquess (Second Chance #1), today, as a part of the ongoing book blast tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment. Note that Second Chance Marquess is free on kindle unlimited and now on sale for .99 cents!!

Jessica Jefferson will be awarding a $25 and a $50 Amazon or B/N GC to two randomly drawn winners via rafflecopter during the tour
Second Chance Marquess
Jessica Jefferson
(Second Chance #1)
Publication: March 21, 2017
When Wilhemina Turner’s younger sister runs off with a young Lothario, she has no choice but to turn to the notorious rake who broke his promise and her heart, for assistance. George Bartlett, the Marquess of Chesterton, hasn’t forgotten the woman who hurt him so many years ago, but can’t deny her request, knowing that his brother’s reputation, and fortune, is at risk.

A series of misfortunes leave the straight-laced widow and committed bachelor stranded, sharing both close quarters and old secrets. But when morning comes, will this unlikely pair find a second chance at love?


Buy Link:
Amazon

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: Wilde Thing by Jannine Gallant

Monday, March 20, 2017

I'm hosting a promo, today, on Jannine Gallant's latest contemporary romance release, Wilde Thing (Born to be Wilde #3), as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment.

Jannine Gallant will be awarding a digital copy of the featured book via rafflecopter
Wilde Thing
Jannine Gallant
(Born to be Wilde #3)
Published: February 28, 2017 by Lyrical Press
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32797492-wilde-thing
The Wilde brothers are addicted to the rush of adventure. But one of them is about to learn no matter how often you look for danger, you don’t want danger finding you.

For extreme skier Tripp Wilde, pushing the limits is what he lives for. Unfortunately, the inherent risk takes a toll on his body. After an injury sidelines him, he ends up in the care of his little sister’s best friend, physical therapist Hannah Ryder—who has grown up in all the right ways since they last met.

Hannah doesn’t mix business with pleasure, even though she harbored a maddening crush on the irresistible Tripp years before. So, while Tripp tries every slick maneuver he knows to bed her, Hannah uses her own moves to keep the hotshot skier cooled off while trying to control her own growing desire for him.

After the pair witness what they think may be a murder on the slopes, along with the men responsible, no one believes their story. But when a series of unlikely accidents suggests they are being targeted, the two will have to trust in each other like never before if they are going to survive.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | KOBO | iTunes

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: A Limited Engagement by Bethany Michaels

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Bethany Michaels's latest contemporary romance release, A Limited Engagement (Limitless Love #1), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt and some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $25 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
A Limited Engagement 
Bethany Michaels
(Limitless Love #1)
Published: March 13, 2017 by Entangled Indulgence
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33976090-a-limited-engagement
Derek Sawyer, sexiest bad boy on the racing circuit, is about to land a huge sponsor. The only problem is the oil baron’s daughter wants to make Derek part of the deal. Worried he’ll offend the old billionaire if he rejects his daughter, Derek comes up with the perfect plan—pretend he’s already engaged to his friend Lilly.

Lilly Harmon used to daydream about her childhood crush Derek proposing to her…but not like this. Of course, she just lost her boyfriend and her job, so her five-year plan is already smashed to hell. Pretending to be with Derek might help her get her PR career back on track.

But the oil baron’s daughter won’t give up that easily, and Derek’s parents believe the engagement proves he’s become the son they always wanted.

Money. Family. Love. The truth could destroy everything. And to think this engagement was supposed to be the easy way out.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo
| Entangled

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: Yours Truly by K.J. Pierce

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

I'm hosting, today, a promo on K.J. Pierce's chick lit/romantic comedy, Yours Truly, as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment.

K.J. Pierce will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour
Yours Truly
K.J. Pierce
Published: March 3, 2017 by Wild Rose Press
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34334796-yours-truly
Izzie Greene never wanted the limelight. As a caterer for Poe, the top-rated U.S. TV show, she had background player down pat. Her main focus was to spoil the cast and crew and fantasize about her celebrity crush, Scotsman Cardwell Bennett, while navigating the daily chaos.

Izzie’s professional life takes a sharp left turn when her ex-boyfriend unexpectedly arrives on set. Her personal life spirals into Hell when she runs afoul of an unethical paparazzo. Thrust into the public eye, her notoriety is fueled by equal measures of constant scrutiny, speculation, and half-truths. Her rumored romance with Cardwell further stokes the flames.

Held captive by the media, accident-prone Izzie struggles to keep her privacy, secrets, and sanity intact—not to mention her sense of humor. With help from her best friend Delly, her temperamental cat Edgar, and unexpected backup, Izzie might withstand the onslaught. And survive the season.

Release Blitz and Giveaway: 1st Time Love by Sapphire Knight

Monday, March 13, 2017

Today I'm hosting a promo on Sapphire Knight's latest sports romance, 1st Time Love (Dirty Down South #1), as a part of the ongoing release blitz. Also find some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $10 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!!
1st Time Love
Sapphire Knight
(Dirty Down South #1)
Publication: March 13, 2017
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27241167-1st-time-love
Tyler
Football is life.
Growing up, my family loved to cheer me on, and after my parents accident, I vowed to be the best I could be to honor their memory.
After a while, life starts to pile up, college, football, and helping out my brothers.
I just need a small reprieve, especially if she’s five foot five, brunette and has legs that go on for miles.
Fun is fun... Not like anyone’s going to fall in love.

Kadence
Star football player..... Check.
Spoiled brat..... Check.
Just when I think I have Tyler Owen’s all figured out; he knocks me on my ass, literally.
I wasn’t expecting him to help me up, or the little shock that I felt when we touched, but then I didn’t think I’d fall in love either.

1st Time Love is a complete standalone novel with a happily ever after and no cheating.

Buy Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | KOBO | iBooks

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (475) contemporary (471) other authors (422) blog tour (403) book spotlight/promo (399) erotica (349) author giveaway (304) novella (213) paranormal (94) medieval (91) new adult (89) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (80) highlander (57) freebie (54) cover reveal (49) requested review (44) western (38) guest post (28) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) 5+stars (14) sabrina jeffries (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (12) kerrigan byrne (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) lisa kleypas (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) carla kelly (8) karen marie moning (8) ramona flightner (8) debra anastasia (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) gina conkle (6) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) linda broday (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) amy rose bennett (4) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) edie harris (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth moss (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) diana bold (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) laura frantz (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sports (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation