Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Her Duke At Daybreak by Wendy LaCapra

Friday, October 20, 2017

I'm hosting a promo, today, on Wendy LaCapra's latest historical romance release, Her Duke At Daybreak (Mythic Dukes #1), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt and some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $15 B&N GC, signed paperbacks and many more, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
Her Duke At Daybreak
Wendy LaCapra
(Mythic Dukes #1)
Published: October 17, 2017
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36236057-her-duke-at-daybreak
Infamous for his pedigree of madness and murder, the reclusive Duke of Ashbey believes he cannot feel until a mysterious woman unlocks a world of sensation in a single, shattering moment of connection. He casts a desperate bid for more.

Recent widow Alicia Stone has long been reviled as the chief impediment to a love affair that captured the nation’s imagination. Publicly, she settled for respectability’s cold comfort, but, secretly, she longs to experience what she never found with her famous husband—uninhibited passion.

When a devilish duke proposes a discreet three-night assignation, Alicia shocks herself by accepting. But will their explosive union cost them both far more than they bargained?

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Make Me Yours by Rebecca Brooks

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

I'm hosting a promo, today, on Rebecca Brooks's steamy contemporary romance release, Make Me Yours (Men of Gold Mountain #4), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt and some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $50 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
Make Me Yours
Rebecca Brooks
(Men of Gold Mountain #4)
Published: October 9, 2017 by Entangled Brazen
"Intensely sexy and packs an emotional punch!" - #1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Blakely on Make Me Beg

Claire Collins has always been good—except when it comes to bad boys. Or one bad boy in particular: a tattooed musician as skilled with her body as he is with his guitar. But he wasn’t ready to be a father, so she left him to raise their daughter on her own. Only fate had other plans, and suddenly, Ryan is back in her life, disrupting everything. This time, though, she’s determined not to lose her heart…even if she still craves his touch.

Ryan Thomas never expects to see Claire again—especially not in a small mountain town in Washington on the last show of his comeback tour. But when the lights come on, there she is, more beautiful than ever. One incredible night with her won’t be enough… But he’ll have to prove he’s not the man he used to be, if he wants to keep her—and his family—for good.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | KOBO | iTunes | Entangled

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Meet A Rogue At Midnight by Gina Conkle

Monday, October 16, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Gina Conkle's latest historical romance release, Meet A Rogue At Midnight (Midnight Meetings #2.5), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a Masked Maiden tote bag and a $20 Amazon GC so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
Meet A Rogue At Midnight
Gina Conkle
(Midnight Meetings #2.5)
Expected Publication: October 17, 2017 by Dragonblade Publishing
A Saved Scoundrel…
Jonas Bacon Braithwaite wants to make peace with his grandfather before departing England. Once Nottinghamshire’s favorite trouble-maker, he’s since become an upstanding man of honor. But, the lushly curved thief hiding in his bedchamber makes him think twice about one last conquest.

A Stubborn Siren…
Livvy Halsey bristles at life’s rules. Always has. Sneaking into the Braithwaite house to reclaim a treasured family heirloom is one way she upends the conventional life that awaits her. Duty demands she marry. But what harm is there in having a little fun with her childhood friend before the Twelfth Night ends?

And Twilight Temptation…
Stolen kisses fan hot flames. Surprising passion intertwines with friendship…but will it be enough to last forever?

(NOTE: This book will be a full novella. Please ignore the page count listed on Amazon.)

Buy Link:
Amazon
 

Miss Whittier Makes A List by Carla Kelly

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Miss Whittier Makes A List

Carla Kelly
Historical Romance
Published in 2012 (originally 1994)

H/h - Captain Daniel Spark/Hannah Whittier
Setting: Early 1800s.

Read in September, 2017.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

The latest Carla Kelly that I read, Miss Whittier Makes A List, was one of those I was finishing up from her “Miss” series. Well, there’s no series titled like that but she’s got quite a few older Regency romances having titles with a “Miss this or that does this or that” (if this even makes any sense to anyone ;P). *facepalm* Sooo, I liked how it was, the storyline, the characters too. However, not as mind-blowing as I had hoped it would be after reading the first few chapters. As a result, it took me a while to finish it because I wasn’t sure what to write in my review or how to structure it; my feelings were that ambivalent. I don’t want anyone to dislike the story, but there are things that need to be mentioned.

Miss Whittier Makes A List isn’t a badly written novel. Not at all! I mean I keep saying this, and it’s true. I love Ms. Kelly’s writing and I loved most of her backlist thus far. This one begins with a h with a little different background. Hannah is a Quaker, a background not often explored in the arena of HR that I generally read. But even though she’s meant to be lived under strict rules of the ‘type’ of Christianity they followed, Hannah was anything but meek and biddable. Oh she gives that impression quite well, but inside Hannah something... different. Something preferably more exciting. Things that she won’t even acknowledge to herself, let alone to anyone else among her Quaker Friends. I mean, they don’t even call each-other anything but ‘thee’ and ‘thy’. :/

Promo Spotlight: Necessary Roughness by Julie Brannagh

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Julie Brannagh's latest contemporary romance release, Necessary Roughness (Love and Football #7), as a part of the ongoing VBT. This tour is a bit different for me. I've never hosted a tour for an author posthumously. Ms. Brannagh suddenly passed away last month, and this maybe her last publication. Hope you enjoy the excerpt accompanying this post. :)
Necessary Roughness
Julie Brannagh
(Love and Football #7)
Published: October 10, 2017 by Avon Impulse

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28594398-necessary-roughness
Tanner Cole’s football career was over in less than thirty seconds one Sunday afternoon. After a lifetime playing the sport he loves he’s been forced into an early retirement. Between figuring out his plan for the rest of his life and dealing with the pain of his injuries, this grouchy hottie isn’t in the mood for the perky physical therapist who makes him in ache in more than one place.

Jordan Mueller doesn’t have time for a sulky ex-NFL player, even one who looks like Tanner. She’s done with falling for the bad boy without a heart. When she’s forced out of her apartment and offered an opportunity too good to pass up, she agrees to move in with Tanner. She’s only there to speed up his recovery. No funny business, even if her body is telling her otherwise.

As Tanner and Jordan spend more and more time together, they begin to see each other in a new light that threatens to change everything. But when the ghosts of girlfriends past reappear, Tanner must decide if he’s willing to put everything on the line for a shot at a future with Jordan.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | Avon Romance | iBooks

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: How the Warrior Claimed by Nicole René

Friday, October 13, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Nicole René's dark historical romance, How the Warrior Claimed (Falling Warriors #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt and some teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $25 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
How The Warrior Claimed
Nicole René
(Falling Warriors  #2)
Published: October 8, 2017 
Cover Designer: Marisa Shor, Cover Me Darling
HE was the chief’s cousin…
Namoriee knew the only way to protect herself against the blond-haired gentle giant was to stay away. The way her heart pounded and her insides fluttered when he was near could only lead to disaster.
Two years ago he made a promise to her that she never thought he intended to keep.
She was wrong. 

SHE was the handmaiden…
Tyronian wanted Namoriee even when he knew he couldn’t have her. The need to possess her was so deep, it took every ounce of mental and physical strength he had to keep the promise he made to her that stormy night.
He promised he would wait until she was older.
He promised her two years.
But now… time’s up.
Namoriee wants nothing to do with him but he has no plans on stopping until she’s in his bed, and he’s in her heart.
She will be his. Forever.
Whether she likes it or not.

Buy Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | KOBO | iTunes

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: A Simple Wish by Charlotte Hubbard

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Charlotte Hubbard's latest Amish/Inspirational romance, A Simple Wish (Simple Gifts #2), as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment.

Charlotte Hubbard will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour
A Simple Wish
Charlotte Hubbard
(Simple Gifts #2)
Published: September 26, 2017 by Zebra
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33889419-a-simple-wish
Making rugs for the Simple Gifts store has taught Loretta Riehl that an unassuming pattern can reveal surprising depth. People, too, have a way of defying first impressions. Drew Detweiler came to Willow Ridge under a cloud, but the  handsome craftsman has gained the community's respect for his upholstery skills and commitment to making amends for his mistakes. As her new brother-in-law's twin, he's joining the family for dinners and Sunday visits, and Loretta can't deny enjoying his attentions.

If only  her dat were willing to let a little joy into his life. Cornelius Riehl grows sterner with each day, and Drew suspects there's more to his moods than missing Loretta's late mamm. Hoping to fulfill Loretta's wish to live in a  peaceful, happy home again, Drew sets out to learn the truth. It's a journey that will bring to light painful realities—but also the chance to forge a new, honest, and loving future together...

Buy Links:
 

Guest Post and Giveaway: Brewing Love by Meg Benjamin, Author of Saison for Love

Monday, October 09, 2017

Today, I'm hosting a promo on Meg Benjamin's latest contemporary romance release, Saison For Love (Brewing Love #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt for you enjoyment. I hope you enjoy the guest post too. :)

Meg Benjamin will be awarding a $30 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour
Brewing Love

When you think of a romantic dinner, beer probably isn’t on the table. I guess it’s the legacy of years of “Budweiser Bros” commercials where beer is linked with mancaves and The Big Game. So why did I decide to write a romantic trilogy about a brewery? Well, living in Colorado—aka, Craft Beer Central—has taught me a few things about beer.
First of all, if your idea of beer is a lukewarm can of Bud Light, you’ve got a whole world of delights awaiting you, from the rich decadence of chocolate stout to the crisp citrus of a summer saison. There’s something for every taste. As a beer aficionado once told me, “People who say they don’t like beer just haven’t tasted the right beer yet.”
But more importantly, beer wasn’t always an exclusively male thing. Until beer production was commercialized, women were the primary brewers in most societies. A good housewife could brew beer just like she could bake bread, and the same grain might be used for both. The ancient Sumerians even had a beer goddess, Ninkasi.
In Saison for Love, my hero, Liam Dempsey, is a brewer alongside his sister Bec, the brewmaster. So it figures that when he falls in love, his idea of a great gift isn’t roses or chocolate, it’s beer. In particular, it’s a saison brewed especially for his lady love, Ruth Colbert, a cheesemaker and restaurateur who appreciates things that taste good. Now there are times when he’s not sure he’ll ever get the chance to give Ruth his saison—the course of true love definitely doesn’t run smoothly for these two. But when he does, it’s worth the wait.

“Hi.” He couldn’t think of anything else to say, any more than he could think of anything he wanted to do more than stare at her. Her short, dark hair was slightly mussed, as usual, and her velvet eyes were brilliant in the late afternoon sunlight. It occurred to him that he could be happy staring at her for the rest of the night. Only she might not be equally happy with being stared at. “Can I come in? I’ve got something for you.”
“Sure.” She stepped back from the door to let him pass, then followed him into the kitchen. “What’s up?”
He placed his paper sack on the kitchen counter, then withdrew the bottle he’d filled at the brewery. “I’ve got something I want you to try.”
Her forehead furrowed. “What is it?”
“It’s a saison I made a while ago. Lemon and basil.”
“Then I’d say it’s time.” She turned to the cupboard and pulled down a couple of glasses. They weren’t beer glasses, but he didn’t care at that point.
He picked up the bottle and poured carefully. Pale gold with a good cap of foam. He waited for her to pick up her glass, then raised his own to his lips and sipped.
Clean, crisp, with the faintest trace of basil on his tongue and the shimmer of citrus at the end. Just as good today as it had been last night.
“Oh my God, that’s good,” Ruth murmured.
“Good for a hot day,” he said slowly. “On a shady patio. With somebody sitting beside you that you really care about.”

Saison for Love is available now at the usual outlets, including Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Kobo. 

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. My blog Punya Reviews just turned 6 in 2017 and still going strong. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation