Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

The Witch of Clan Sinclair by Karen Ranney

Thursday, May 29, 2014

The Witch of Clan Sinclair
Clan Sinclair #2

Karen Ranney
Historical Romance
Published in 2014

H/h - Logan Harrison/Mairi Sinclair
Setting: Edinburgh, Scotland 1872.

Read in May, 2014.
My rating:
 
                                                    [spoiler alert]

The Witch of Clan Sinclair was such an amazing read, a total turnaround from the pain that was book 1. It had a strong and stubborn heroine with an equally stubborn hero, some superb banters, not to mention their chemistry was off the charts... meaning me positively vibrating with glee!

We were introduced to Mairi, Marcrath’s elder sister in The Devil of Clan Sinclair, which is also Macrath and Virginia’s story. She was not a prominent character but was featured in and out, alongside their orphaned cousin, Fenella, now a part of their family too. Macrath, a Scottish inventor, has made much money with his brilliance, determination and skills, hence the word ‘poverty’ has been erased from their dictionary. Macrath has bought his own home, a castle-like structure away from the noisy city, called Drumvagen. He has been living there permanently for a while, and after much trials and tribulations, now with his own family. Macrath is nothing if not caring and has made sure that Mairi and Fenella have their own place in Edinburgh since the head-office of ‘The Edinburgh Gazette’ is there. Fenella has taken to act as Mairi’s housekeeper because she’s so good at managing household staff and expenditures. But she has never been treated poorly by either Mairi, Macrath or their younger sister, Ceana. Additionally, Ceana is now married and living with her husband and hasn’t made an appearance in this one.

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Rescued by the Buccaneer by Normandie Alleman

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

The VBT of Normandy Alleman's Erotic Historical Romance, Rescued by a Buccaneer (Pirates of the Jolie Rouge Trilogy #1) is going on. I'm hosting a promo spotlight feature as a part of this tour. Find the complete promo info and an excerpt in the following post. Don't forget to comment and check out the giveaway via rafflecopter below!

Normandie Alleman will be giving away a $50 Amazon/BN.com GC to one randomly chosen commenter during the tour 


Rescued by a Buccaneer
Normandie Alleman
(Pirates of the Jolie Rouge Trilogy #1)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20958715-rescued-by-the-buccaneer

When Frederica Beauchamp boards a ship for the Americas, she dreams of a life filled with adventure, but she gets more than she bargained for when her passenger ship is attacked by pirates. The heartless men kidnap her and force her to serve their captain—a fate that might be worse than death, since though he does not have his way with her, the captain delights in baring her, shaming her, and thrashing her bare bottom as punishment for every imagined disobedience.

After the pirates bring aboard an injured man found floating in the sea, Frederica tends to his wounds and learns that he is Gaston Galette, a survivor of a shipwrecked vessel. Gaston seeks her help to overthrow the vile captain, but when their plan goes awry he is forced to use all of his wiles to save them. As the naïve girl and the seasoned sailor navigate one perilous situation after another, he informs Frederica that the only way they can survive is if he is in command, and that if she thinks things can be otherwise, she will be taken over his knee for a bare bottom spanking.

As he watches the proud, willful Frederica bow to his authority, however, Gaston worries that her growing hold on his heart will be his downfall. He knows he cannot take a woman with him when he returns to his ship and crew, but when Frederica accepts his lustful dominance completely, submitting to him with grace and beauty no other woman could match, Gaston realizes that he may never be able to let her go.

Publisher’s Note: Rescued by the Buccaneer is the first book of the Pirates of the Jolie Rouge trilogy. It is an adventure and erotic romance novel that includes spankings, sexual scenes including elements of BDSM and humiliation, and more.

Buy Links:

Cover Reveal: The Raven by Sylvain Reynard

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

So, I've been waiting for a glimpse of the cover of Sylvain Reynard's The Raven, now book 1 of The Florentine series ever since I signed up for the cover reveal. I have to say that it's a beautiful cover. Take a look!

The Raven
Sylvain Reynard
(The Florentine #1)
Release date: Early 2015
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18964169-the-raven

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Gabriel Series comes a dark, sensual tale of romance in a city shrouded in mystery…

Raven Wood spends her days at Florence’s Uffizi Gallery restoring fine works of Renaissance art. But an innocent walk home after an evening with friends changes her life forever. When she intervenes in the senseless beating of a homeless man, his attackers turn on her, dragging her into an alley. Raven is only semi-conscious when their assault is interrupted by a cacophony of growls followed by her attacker’s screams. Mercifully, she blacks out, but not before catching a glimpse of a shadowy figure who whispers to her…

Cassita vulneratus.

When Raven awakes, she is inexplicably changed. She returns to the Uffizi, but no one recognizes her and more disturbingly, she discovers that she’s been absent an entire week. With no recollection of the events leading up to her disappearance, Raven also learns that her absence coincides with one of the largest robberies in Uffizi history – the theft of a set of priceless Botticelli illustrations. When the baffled police force identifies her as its prime suspect, Raven is desperate to clear her name. She seeks out one of Florence’s wealthiest and elusive men in an attempt to uncover the truth about her disappearance. Their encounter leads Raven to a dark underworld whose inhabitants kill to keep their secrets…

Pre-Order Link:

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Tease by Sophie Jordan

Friday, May 23, 2014

Today, featuring a promo on Sophie Jordan's Tease, book 2 in The Ivy Chronicles series. In the following find the complete promo info. Don't forget to check out the giveaway via rafflecopter below. Note: Tease is being published in parts but the full novel will be out on May 27th, 2014. Part 1 is currently available for FREE!!
 
Tease
Sophie Jordan
(The Ivy Chronicles #2)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18505804-tease

What happens when a girl who always calls the shots meets a guy who's too wild for even her?

A born flirt and good-time party girl, Emerson has never had a problem finding a willing guy. She's always chosen her hookups carefully, and she's never broken her three cardinal rules:

Never let them see the real you.
Never fall in love.
Always leave them begging for more.

Then Shaw comes along. A hottie from the wrong side of the tracks, he's immune to her flirtatious banter and come-hither smile. After rescuing her from a disastrous night at a biker bar, he doesn't even try to take her to bed—he calls her a tease and sends her home instead. Unable to resist a challenge, or forget the sexy, dark-eyed, bad-boy biker, she vows to bring him to his knees.

But instead of making Shaw beg, Emerson finds herself craving him. For the first time in her life, she's throwing out her rule book. Suddenly, she's the one panting for a guy she can't control—a guy who won't settle for anything less than the real Emerson and who forces her to do things she's never imagined, including facing a past she thought she'd buried.

A guy who just might leave her wanting more. . . .

Buy Links:

The Devil of Clan Sinclair by Karen Ranney

Thursday, May 22, 2014

The Devil of Clan Sinclair
Clan Sinclair #1

Karen Ranney
Historical Romance
Published in 2013

H/h - Macrath Sinclair/Virginia Anderson Traylor, Countess of Barrett
Setting: London and Scotland, 1869.

Read in May, 2014
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert]

It was rather on impulse that I started reading The Devil of Clan Sinclair by Karen Ranney, book 1 of Clan Sinclair series. Never read anything by her before, but I dig anything that says ‘Highlander and Scottish’, so... um no surprise that I caved. I loved the author’s writing style, even with the narratives going back and forth into the past and the present. However, can’t say the same about the heroine of the story. I was engrossed enough to finish it but boy she tried my patience!

The story starts when Virginia, our h, has just been widowed. She’s been married to the invalid Earl of Barrett for about a year when he passed away due to weak health. Virginia never liked Lawrence and though it was consummated, she has never been with him after that night. She detested him as much as he did, hence no heir. Now, this poses a threat. Virginia originally hails from America. She was the only daughter of a wealthy businessman. Upon her marriage, Lawrence inherited everything, and in exchange, she got the title of a countess. Apparently, her husband went through it all, leaving her, her two SILs Eudora and Ellice and MIL, Enid, destitute. Since there is no male heir, everything that is left will go to a distant cousin through entailment. It was also apparent that the man will not take any responsibility of them. This leaves Virginia’s rather self-seeking MIL to use (yes, that was completely using her) her in a different way. Find a man, get pregnant, pass it off as Lawrence’s heir and keep the inheritance. After all, she and her two daughters never lived in poverty, so Virginia will have to help. She saved them once, she’d do it again.

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: A Dangerous Madness by Michelle Diener

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Michelle Diener's newest Historical Fiction, A Dangerous Madness, book 3 in the Regency London series, has been released on May 19th, 2014. To celebrate the publication, I'm hosting this promo spotlight. There's also a giveaway which you can enter via rafflecopter below.

** The giveaway is of 2 Kindle copies of A Dangerous Madness

Remember, the giveaway ends on May 25th, 2014. After the winners are chosen, I'll announce their names on my twitter and facebook page. Check back to see if you've won and be sure to let me know. I'll email the winners and they have 48 hrs. to confirm their winnings. The author will then take over and send the winners their copies. Best of luck!!!
A Dangerous Madness
Michelle Diener
(Regency London #3)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21956516-a-dangerous-madness

The Duke of Wittaker has been living a lie...

He’s been spying on the dissolute, discontented noblemen of the ton, pretending to share their views. Now he’s ready to step out of the shadows and start living a real life...but when the prime minister of England is assassinated, he's asked to go back to being the rake-hell duke everyone still believes he is to find out more.

Miss Phoebe Hillier has been living a lie, too...

All her life she's played the game, hiding her fierce intelligence and love of life behind a docile and decorous mask. All it's gotten her is jilted by her betrothed, a man she thought a fool, but a harmless one. But when she discovers her former fiancé was involved in the plot against the prime minister, and that he's been murdered, she realizes he wasn't so harmless after all.

And now the killers have set their sights on her...

The only man who can help her is the Duke of Wittaker--a man she knows she shouldn't trust. And she soon realizes he's hiding behind a mask as careful as her own. As the assassin steadfastly vows he acted alone, and as the clock ticks down to his trial, the pair scramble to uncover the real conspiracy. And as the pressure and the danger mounts, Phoebe and Wittaker shed their disguises, layer by layer, to discover something more precious than either imagined–something that could last forever. Unless the conspirators desperate to hide their tracks get to them first.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iTunes  

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. My blog Punya Reviews just turned 6 in 2017 and still going strong. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation