Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Book Blast and Giveaway: Charming the Duke by Holly Bush

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

The book blast of Holly Bush's historical romance, Charming the Duke is taking place today. Find all the promo info in this following post, alongside an excerpt. Don't forget to comment and check out the giveaway via rafflecopter!

Holly Bush will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.
Charming the Duke
Holly Bush
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21524278-charming-the-duke

1849 . . . Matilda Sheldon, the middle daughter of the sixth Earl of Bisset, has never been interested in the fashionable society events that so preoccupy her parents and siblings. Her loving, albeit, daft family cannot understand why. But Matilda has little use for silly rules and dramas. She would rather occupy her time with a worthwhile cause such as opening The Sheldon Home for Orphans, much to the chagrin of her mother and grandmother. They are quite certain a venture of this nature will discourage suitors. Matilda is quite certain that if suitors are discouraged it is because she is clever, plain, a bit clumsy, and inevitably compared to her beautiful sisters.

The Duke of Thornsby is in tight spot. After receiving the title on the death of his father, he discovers the inheritance is to be gifted elsewhere if he does not marry before his thirtieth birthday. Unfortunately, our man-about-town is embroiled in a scandal, not of his own making, and the marriage mamas won’t let any eligible misses anywhere near him. What’s a Duke to do? Get invited to a house party hosted by the notoriously absent-minded Earl of Bisset, who just happens to be Papa to some young ladies of marriageable age!

Thornsby finds himself fascinated, not with the two Sheldon debutantes actively seeking a husband, but rather with the ‘brown wren’ he first mistakes for a servant. Matilda is counting the hours until the house party ends when the necessity of conversing with the guests will be over, and ridiculously handsome men go far away. Can a worldly Duke convince a sensible girl to accept his court? Find out in Charming the Duke.

Buy Link:

Meet the Earl at Midnight by Gina Conkle

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Meet the Earl at Midnight
Midnight Meetings #1

Gina Conkle
Historical Romance
Pub date: May 6, 2014 (ARC review)

H/h - Edward Sanford, the Earl of Greenwich/Lydia Montgomey
Setting: London, 1768.

Read in April, 2014.
My rating:

                                                 [spoiler alert]

Gina Conkle is fast becoming one of my favorite authors just because her tone and storytelling ability is refreshingly different, especially in the arena of Historical romance. But I had a tough time rating Meet the Earl at Midnight, book 1 of the new Midnight Meetings series. On one hand, I enjoyed many aspects of this story, on the other, it had its frustrating moments too. Let me see if I can elaborate.

Late one night, our heroine, Lydia finds herself out of her comfy bed and on her way to an urgent midnight meeting, on the request of her stepfather. At first, she thought her younger brother has gotten into one scrape or the other, and her stepfather being a good-for-nothing, wants her to help out, as usual. But what she finds when she arrives at her destination not only shakes the sleep off of her eyes, but also makes her dumbstruck. Apparently, it’s her stepfather who has gotten into trouble. In return, he has reached an understanding with the offended party; by ‘selling’ her to this... stranger who wouldn’t even show his face as he comes to claim his ‘prize’. The man seemed to be a nobleman, if his clothing and cultured tone says something. And it’s apparent that he wants a MOC with her ASAP, and wouldn’t shy away from using her mother’s ill health and the fear of ending up in workhouse to acquire what he wants.

Promo Spotlight: Honor and Innocence: Against the Tides of War by Glen Thomas Hierlmeier

Monday, April 28, 2014

Today, Glen Thomas Hierlmeier's Honor and Innocence: Against the Tides of War is being featured on my blog. I'm glad to be sharing the book promo complete with all the info and an excerpt. Must mention that the cover is lovely. :)
 
Honor and Innocence: Against the Tides of War
Glen Thomas Hierlmeier

 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20663188-honor-and-innocence

Honor and Innocence: Against the Tides of War, a historical romance novel by Glen Hierlmeier, takes the reader through the devastation left by World War II across the European and Asian continents following its main character Hank Fischer, who was drafted to the American Army in 1945 shortly after his high school graduation.

During his service, Hank befriends a German prisoner-of-war, Max, who tells Hank of his twin sister, Roberta, also in captivity. An unlikely romance buds between her and Hank, leaving Hank conflicted between his allegiance to the American Army and his love for Roberta. Hank decides to break out Max and Roberta, and together they make a desperate flight through war-torn Germany where they witness first-hand the destruction post-war Europe has endured. Leaving Max behind in Switzerland, they make their way to the port city of Trieste, where they board a ship and depart to the seas, dealing with pirates, facing adversity, making new friends, and desperately seeking a safe refuge in a place where their love can flourish.

Follow Hank and Roberta on their intense and captivating journey from country to country as they seek refuge. Read as they make their way through bombed-out cities, giving a rare glimpse into the tragic consequences of war, as they remain together bound by love.

Buy Link:
Amazon

An Unexpected Sin by Sarah Ballance

Sunday, April 27, 2014

An Unexpected Sin
Sins of Salem #2

Sarah Ballance
Historical Romance 
Pub date: April 14, 2014 (ARC review)

H/h - Josiah Cromwell/Anne Scudder
Setting: Salem, Massachusetts, 1692.

Read in April, 2014.
My rating:

                                           [spoiler alert]


Sarah Ballance’s An Unexpected Sin, book 2 of Sins of Salem was a delightful read. I enjoyed it much more than book 1, Her Wicked Sin. The storytelling was flowing; I was hooked from the first page. Reading about a young couple, known to each-other since childhood and already harboring deep emotions, IMO, was a plus point of this story.

An Unexpected Sin, though set in the dark backdrop of Salem’s witch trial, is not directly involved in it. There are instances where one or more of the characters are said to have some kinda connection to this horrid event one way or the other but the story itself is all about Anne and Josiah’s love for each-other.

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Finding Jayda by Samantha Johns

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Today, I'm featuring a promo spotlight on Finding Jayda by Samantha Johns, a contemporary romantic suspense as a part of the blog tour. Find all the necessary information in this post. The rafflecopter giveaway includes several ebooks by different authors. Don't forget to check it out!
Finding Jayda
Samantha Johns

Jayda Parrish was a St. Louis girl through and through, raised on gooey butter cake and Ted Drewes frozen custard. She came from humble working-class beginnings and was employed in a fuse factory in a lower-class part of town, despite her natural talents that could have afforded her a much better future.

Fed up with her life, she plans a calculated escape from her abusive, alcoholic boyfriend, which includes faking her own death. Her escape works, but with unforeseen results. A series of life-threatening situations, and near-death challenges befall her as she flees her old life. The police now hot on her trail.

Along the way Jayda encounters an array of colorful and unforgettable characters that transform her view of life and her expectations of happiness. During her journey Jayda finds a wonderful man and learns about true love, while facing the fight of her life to hang on to it all.

Jayda’s character develops as one twist and turn confronts her after another in a fast-paced all-encompassing love story of deepest proportions. She finds strengths she didn’t know she possessed and learns to love more profoundly than she ever could have imagined possible.

A romantic suspense story that includes mystery, ancient myths and long-held secrets.

Buy Link:

Promo Blitz: To Catch a Spinster by Megan Bryce

Friday, April 25, 2014

Megan Bryce's historical romance To Catch a Spinster, The Reluctant Bride Collection #1, promo blitz is taking place today. Find the necessary information on the book and the author and an excerpt in the following post. To Catch a Spinster will be FREE during this promo blitz. Check out the buy links below and grab your copy today!
To Catch a Spinster
Megan Bryce
(The Reluctant Bride Collection #1)

Come back to a time when manners are everything and rules are made to never be broken. Come back to a time when men are in charge and women do what they are told...

Yeah, that never happened.
Welcome to Megan Bryce's Regencyland, where ladies with backbone get what they want. Where a woman can thumb her nose at rules and care little for convention, and yet somehow, unexpectedly and most reluctantly, find love.

To Catch A Spinster

Olivia Blakesley, self-proclaimed spinster extraordinaire, is quite happy with her life. She has her studies and her duties, what need does she have of a husband? With five sisters married she knows the reality does not live up to the promise, and does not need to personally experiment with the state to know she would be ill-suited to it. However, she finds herself envious of at least one aspect of marriage. But to experience the physical side of marriage, one doesn't need a husband, all one needs is the right man...

Nathaniel Jenkins knows his duty. Marry a young girl from a respectable family and father an heir, no matter how cold the endless parade of suitable girls leaves him. But a shocking proposal from a scholarly spinster leaves him wondering if unsuitable is just what he's looking for. Can he convince his spinster that marriage is the greatest experiment of all?

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | Smashwords | iTunes | Google Play

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (507) contemporary (505) other authors (466) book spotlight/promo (448) blog tour (447) erotica (362) author giveaway (332) novella (218) paranormal (99) medieval (95) new adult (95) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (85) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (53) requested review (49) western (41) guest post (29) time travel (24) elizabeth hoyt (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) scottish (15) 5+stars (14) carla kelly (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) eliza lloyd (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) morgan o'neill (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) erica taylor (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) janine ashbless (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) sci fi (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) christina phillips (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation