Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Book Blitz and Giveaway: His Hometown Girl by Karen Rock

Friday, February 28, 2014

Today is the last day of the book blitz of Karen Rock's His Hometown Girl, a Harlequin Heartwarming coming in March, 2014. In the following, find a promo post including author links and an excerpt. There are two giveaways, scroll down and enter. One is thru rafflecopter and easy. For the other giveaway, you'd be eligible only if you have pre-ordered this book.



His Hometown Girl
Karen Rock


He'd always managed to best her…

Jodi Chapman will do whatever it takes to get top care for her autistic son. If that means going home and convincing local farmers to sell their land, so be it. Even if her biggest opponent, childhood rival Daniel Gleason, is equally determined to convince farmers to buy into his co-op plan. And he's not playing fair.

Facing off against Daniel is the last thing Jodi wants. The attraction that's always fueled their competitiveness is as strong as ever and just as distracting. But with both their futures on the line, and years of distrust between them, how can they ever be on the same side?

 Pre-Order Links:

Their Wicked Ways by Julia Keaton

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Their Wicked Ways 

Julia Keaton
Historical Romance/Erotica (ménage)
Published in 2013

H/h - Darcy St. James and Nicholas Cain/Bronte Dunmore
Setting: Regency England.

Read in Feb 2014.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

Just finished another Julia Keaton book after quite a while. I generally enjoy her books and Their Wicked Ways was no different. I never thought I’d say it in a ménage but the story was totally hilarious. Not your average ménage erotica out there for sure!

Darcy and Nick, two very close friends since their childhood, have always been inseparable. They are like two peas in a pod, understand each-other so well that others just stare at awe. Sometimes they don’t even have to talk to communicate. They also like sharing things, sometimes even mistresses. No, they’re not gays, very much straight men, but they’ve just… always been together as far as everyone remembers.

True to the Highlander by Barbara Longley

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

True to the Highlander
Loch Moigh #1

Barbara Longley
Medieval Romance/Time Travel
Pub date: Feb 18, 2014 (ARC review)

H/h - Malcolm MacKintosh/Alethia Goodsky
Setting: The Highlands, 1423.

Read in February, 2014.
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert]

True to the Highlander, book 1 of Loch Moigh series, was my first book by Barbara Longley. The story itself was so much fun that I cruised through it almost without one frustrating moment. I have to admit that I’ve been on a reading slump lately and this book, which I requested rather on whim, came as a fresh breath of air. Alongside good writing and funny moments, True to the Highlander was dramatic with a touch of mystery and a lot of Malcolm and Alethia, who came to be known as ‘True’ to Malcolm’s clan.

When I requested for this book, I had no idea it was a time travel story. I think the word ‘Highlander’ overshadowed everything else. Need I say that I love anything that says ‘Highlander’, hmm? ;) I'm not that big on time-travel theme cause more often than not I end up having to suspend my disbelief to a great level, and yet, the author was able to avoid the clichés rather well.

Promo Spotlight: Blood and Fire by Tori L. Ridgewood

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Tori L. Ridgewood's paranormal romance, Blood and Fire, book 2 in The Talbot Trilogy has just been published. Take a look at the following promo on the book, find an excerpt and the author links.

A few months ago, I also featured book 1, Wind and Shadow, alongside a guest post from the author on my blog if you'd like to check it out. Click HERE for the post.
Blood and Fire
(The Talbot Trilogy #2)
Tori L. Ridgewood
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20800915-blood-and-fire?ac=1

What chance does one witch have against five vampires? Alone, not much. But Rayvin’s allies are gathering…

The battle between good and evil supernatural forces heats up in the long, cold November nights of the former mining town. But how will Rayvin’s motley crew of spellcasters and shapeshifters cope when they discover the threat they face is even greater than they imagined?

The Talbot Trilogy
Prequel:  Mist and Midnight
1. Wind and Shadow
2. Blood and Fire
3. Crystal and Wand

Buy Links:

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Banished Love by Ramona Flightner

Friday, February 21, 2014

I'm featuring a promo of Ramona Flightner's debut Historical Romance, Banished Love (book 1 in the Banished Saga), as a part of the VBT. Scroll down to find the book and the author info, as well as an excerpt. There's a giveaway, enter via rafflecopter below!

My own review of Banished Love can be found HERE, if you're interested and don't mind spoilers.

Ramona Flightner will be awarding a $50 Amazon/BN.com GC to one randomly chosen commenter during the tour. Two randomly chosen hosts will also each receive a $25 Amazon/BN.com GC.

Banished Love
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20623952-banished-love(Banished Saga #1)
Ramona Flightner

Free-Spirited…
Clarissa Sullivan dreams for more from life than sipping tepid tea in stifling parlors in Victorian Boston. She defies her family’s wishes, continuing to teach poor immigrant children in Boston’s West End, finding a much-needed purpose to her life.

Radical…
As a suffragette, Clarissa is considered a firebrand radical no man would desire. For why should women want the vote when men have sheltered women from the distasteful aspects of politics and law?

Determined…
When love blossoms between Clarissa and Gabriel McLeod, a struggling cabinetmaker, her family objects. Clarissa’s love and determination will be tested as she faces class prejudices, manipulative family members and social convention in order to live the life she desires with the man she loves.

Will she succeed? Or will she yield to expectations?

BANISHED LOVE follows Clarissa Sullivan on her journey of self-discovery as she learns what she cannot live without.

Buy Links:

Banished Love by Ramona Flightner

Banished Love
Banished Saga #1

Ramona Flightner
Historical Romance
Published in 2014 [requested review]

H/h - Gabriel McLeod/Clarissa Sullivan
Setting: Boston, 1900.

Read in Feb, 2014.
My rating:

                                                       [spoiler alert]

Debut author Ramona Flightner’s Banished Love was an interesting read. Neat in writing and storytelling with interesting setting and characters, this book had it all. While I was reading, I could hardly tell that I was reading a debut author!

I would recommend this story for anyone who is looking for something different than the usual. The story is told from first person POV, of Clarissa’s. I’m generally not fond of that perspective, but I can sincerely say that the author pulled it through so well that I could connect with Clarissa, be it in her rebellions, through her distress or happiness.

Return to Poughkeepsie by Debra Anastasia

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Return to Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Brotherhood #2

Debra Anastasia
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2013

H/h - Beckett Taylor/Eve Hartt
Setting: Poughkeepsie and Maryland, Present time.

Read in Feb, 2014.
My rating:

                                                    [spoiler alert]

Return to Poughkeepsie was the much anticipated sequel to Poughkeepsie, a book I stumbled upon rather accidentally in 2012, yet ended up enjoying very much. Debra Anastasia was an unknown author to me prior to that. The storyline was very different than my usual read, as was the writing but the best was, I got hooked right from the beginning till the end.

In Poughkeepsie, we meet three ‘brothers’ Beckett, Blake and Cole. I put brothers inside quote because they’re not connected by blood but by circumstances, yet their shared bond for many years have proven to be stronger than any blood relation out there. All three were either abandoned or orphaned as a child, passed on into various foster cares as they grew up. This is also how they met. Lots happened since then. Beckett, the bigger and the stronger one, has always been the one to protect his brothers from harm. Blake is the one who seems more vulnerable because of his psychological problems. He’s not entirely crazy mind you, but some incidents can tick him wrongly, thus making him unstable. But he’s also very talented with a piano. Cole is the cool and calm one; the resident voice of reason.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (475) contemporary (471) other authors (422) blog tour (403) book spotlight/promo (399) erotica (349) author giveaway (304) novella (213) paranormal (94) medieval (91) new adult (89) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (80) highlander (57) freebie (54) cover reveal (49) requested review (44) western (38) guest post (28) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) 5+stars (14) sabrina jeffries (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (12) kerrigan byrne (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) lisa kleypas (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) carla kelly (8) karen marie moning (8) ramona flightner (8) debra anastasia (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) gina conkle (6) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) linda broday (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) amy rose bennett (4) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) edie harris (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth moss (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) diana bold (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) laura frantz (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sports (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation