Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Trust In Me by Skye Warren

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Trust In Me (novella)
Dark Erotica #2

Skye Warren
Contemporary Romance/Erotica (non-consent)
Published in 2012

H/h - Tyler Martinez/Mia
Setting: Present time, takes place after Keep Me Safe.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

The 2nd book in Skye Warren’s Dark Erotica/Erotic Non-Con series, Trust In Me is about a prostitute and her life story, living with a crime lord and his minions. This book also explore the very sensitive issues of rape, abuse, torture and human trafficking, about women who are sold as sex slaves.

But most of all, this is Mia’s story, told from her POV.

Cynders & Ashe by Elizabeth Boyle

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Cynders & Ashe (novella)

Elizabeth Boyle
Historical Romance/Fairytale
Published in 2012

H/h - Julian, Viscount Ashe/Ella Cynders
Setting: London, 1815.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                      [spoiler alert]

I’ve been meaning to read Elizabeth Boyle’s book for sometimes now, so this novella seemed perfect to give her writing a try. I did like her writing but the storyline was pretty predictable with the Cinderella vibe all over it, and kinda bored me. TBH, it could’ve been a sweet story had it not been so predictable.

A Night Like This by Julia Quinn

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

A Night Like This
Smythe-Smith Quartet #2

Julia Quinn
Historical Romance
Pub date: 29 May, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Daniel Smythe-Smith, the Earl of Winstead/Anne Wynter
Setting: London, 1824.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

“Ah!” and a happy sigh was what I did when I finished A Night Like This. This was the best JQ I’ve read in the last couple of years. Absolutely amazing; fun, witty and much much more! Even though I’m still a Bridgertons fan by heart, A Night Like This managed to steal my heart and make a place as well. Both Daniel and Anne were excellent as characters; Daniel, the sweet JQ hero with a penchant for humor and Anne, the smart, beautiful and adorable governess to the Pleinsworth girls. Their dialogues (with or without Harriet, Elizabeth and Frances) were superbly funny, with a healthy dose of good-natured sarcasm. Utterly delicious for words! I found myself chuckling, laughing out loud, snickering... and much more while reading the book. There was a darker undertone as well, with a madman bend on doing harm but that was something I thought a bit overblown.

Temptation & Twilight by Charlotte Featherstone

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Temptation & Twilight
The Brethren Guardians #3

Charlotte Featherstone
Historical Romance
Pub date: June 19, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Iain Sinclair, the Marquis of Alynwick/Lady Elizabeth York
Setting: London, 1875.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                    [spoiler alert]

In my estimation, Iain and Elizabeth are the best pair of the Brethren Guardian series. I’ve no hesitations saying this because this book was just so good and also, to me, the best installment of the series; not just because it was the end of this series but this was full of so much emotion, angst and revelations that caught me by surprise. I was totally cheering for this pair from book #1 and I wasn’t disappointed, all thanks to CF for her wonderful efforts.

Woodland Fantasy by Becca Dale

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Woodland Fantasy (novella)
A free installment

Becca Dale
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2009

H/h - Mr. Oberon (the stranger)/Jenna
Setting: Somewhere in the woods near Jenna's home!

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                   [spoiler alert]
 
I wasn’t really happy about this short free story by Becca Dale. Reading the title, I thought there were some kind of paranormal aspects involved but what this story is about cheating and one night stand, both I don’t care for at all.

Serious Play by Bonnie Dee and Summer Devon

Monday, May 21, 2012

Serious Play

Bonnie Dee and Summer Devon
Contemporary Romance/Erotica
Published in 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Luke Bailey/Mary Scott
Setting: Present time.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                                                         [spoiler alert]

Initially, I loved the idea of Serious Play because of the hero, Luke. I don’t remember reading about an ex-con hero before, which Luke was when the story begins. I’m a huge Bonnie Dee fan too and loved her heroes always. This is also my first collaboration read by her and another author, Summer Devon. Since I don’t read M/M, I didn’t read their earlier collaborations. After finishing the book, I can only say that I’m disappointed. The first half of the book was really good, but the second half wasn’t. The story just lost me there.

Unspoken Promises by Becca Dale

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Unspoken Promises (novella)
Western Escape - A free installment

Becca Dale
Contemporary Romance/Western
Published in 2012

H/h - Treynor Pandoah/Billie Jensen
Setting: Present time.

Read in May, 2012.
My rating:

                                              [might be spoilerish]

Even though I agree with one reviewer (in GR) that this short little story (of about 15 pages) was more of a scene than a story, I still think Unspoken Promises was a very sweet story between two people who were apart by a misunderstanding but still loves each-other very much. TBH, I never read anything else by Becca Dale before, so I picked this free story up mostly because of the gorgeous cover (yep, I’m shallow like that lol) and gave it a go. I’m not sorry that I did.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (471) contemporary (462) other authors (413) blog tour (393) book spotlight/promo (389) erotica (345) author giveaway (297) novella (213) paranormal (94) medieval (91) new adult (87) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (80) highlander (57) freebie (54) cover reveal (49) requested review (44) western (38) guest post (28) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) 5+stars (14) sabrina jeffries (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (12) kerrigan byrne (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) pirate (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) lisa kleypas (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) ramona flightner (8) carla kelly (7) debra anastasia (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) gina conkle (6) holly bush (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) vikings (6) elizabeth elliott (5) jessica jefferson (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) linda broday (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) scottie barrett (5) uncatagorized (5) amy rose bennett (4) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) edie harris (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth moss (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) laura frantz (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sports (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation