Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Saving Sullivan by Sara Hubbard

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Today, I'm hosting a promo spotlight on Sara Hubbard's new adult romance, Saving Sullivan, as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find teasers for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes an inCapable Necklace from Stone Soup Designs (Canada and USA ONLY), don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below.
Saving Sullivan
Sara Hubbard
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25752512-saving-sullivan

Sullivan Hope is a total screw up. He finished university with the help of his father's donations to the school and an ultimatum: Straighten up and join him in the family business, or screw up again and he's cut off for good. This summer is his last chance to live it up before walking the straight and narrow in the fall, and the lure of a good party and, even better, alcohol is more than he can resist. Besides, he's never met a situation he can't handle or talk his way out of, or a pair of panties he couldn't talk his way into. That is, until he meets Abby, the nursing student full of sarcasm and sass.

Flying half way across the country to do her practical nursing placement at Stone Cliff Resort hadn't been part of Abby Claire's plans for the summer. When her first appointment, which would allow her to stay at home and care for her family, falls through, it's either pack up and go or risk not graduating. Meeting the rich, God's gift to all things on earth playboy, Sullivan Hope wasn't in her plans, either, but the more she's around him, the clearer she sees the man who hides behind the parties and liquor.

When a summer fling turns into more than either of them had bargained for, Sullivan's world begins to crumble and Abby gets dragged down into the rubble. He can't let her in despite her healing touch. And Abby can't risk getting too close and finding a reason to stay and save Sullivan.

Buy Links:

Promo Spotlight: Captivated by Your Love by Kennedy Kelly

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

I'm hosting this promo spotlight, today, on Kennedy Kelly's erotic contemporary romance, Captivated by Your Love (The Blue Heart #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt from chapter one and teasers for your enjoyment.
Captivated by Your Love
Kennedy Kelly
(The Blue Heart #2)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25387045-captivated-by-your-love 

She’s fire and he’s Ice, both demanding and both used to getting their way. Put them together and there is one hell of a storm. Two souls drawn together by an unexplainable force, their chemistry is off the charts it sizzles. Some say what they do best is fight, but they know what they do best isn’t in the fight, but the makeup sex that comes after.

Jealousy and impulsive decisions find Abbee now answering to Mrs. Blue. Can the newlyweds find a way to tame themselves and each other long enough to truly allow love to flourish? Or will a jealous ex and pride be too much to handle? Will they be able to stop fighting with each other long enough to fight for each other? Follow along as Abbee Burkhart and Justice Blue find out why everyone says love is worth fighting for.

Buy Links:

The Art of Sinning by Sabrina Jeffries

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

The Art of Sinning
The Sinful Suitors #1

Sabrina Jeffries
Historical Romance
Pub date: July 21, 2015 (ARC review)

H/h - Jeremy Keane/Lady Yvette Barlow
Setting: London, 1829.

Read in July, 2015.
My rating:

                                                   [spoiler alert]

I’m heartbroken and disappointed over the latest Sabrina Jeffies book, the first in a new series called The Sinful Suitors, The Art of Sinning. I dived in, thinking I’ll have a good time nonetheless as I do with any SJ book. Unfortunately, that was not the case. This simply turned out to be... boring.

When I read about The Sinful Suitors, I wasn’t surprised to find that it’s connected to The Duke’s Men. Most of SJ’s series are interlinked thru characters; secondary characters of one series having their own books in a new one. I’d recommend you read both Hellions of the Hallstead Hall and The Duke’s Men series, though The Sinful Suitors doesn’t connect with the former directly at all. There maybe the mention of a character of her older series here and there, but you’d recognize them only if you’ve read the series. It won’t be hindering your enjoyment.

The Art of Sinning starts with Jeremy Keane, a famous American artist new to England in hopes to garner the same name he has had in other countries. He was introduced in book 3 of The Duke’s Men, How the Scoundrel Seduces, as the h Zoe’s distant cousin, also the living male heir to her father’s legacy seeing Zoe was the only child. Lord Olivier wanted Zoe to marry Jeremy in hopes to unite the two brunches, also to keep whatever is theirs in the family. However, some vital things were unraveled regarding Zoe’s birth, which led her to meet Tristan Bonnaud, an investigator of The Duke’s Men, a PI company.

The Midnight Rake by Anabelle Bryant

Monday, July 27, 2015

The Midnight Rake
Three Regency Rogues #3

Anabelle Bryant
Historical Romance
Published in 2015

H/h - Phineas Betcham, Viscount Fenhurst/Penelope Rosebery
Setting: Regency England.

Read in July, 2015.
My rating:

3 stars, no full review for this either. This could've been a much better read. It had some hilarious moments involving a macaw and it's equally hilarious lines (very unsubtle attempt from the H's mother, the owner of the dratted bird, to get him to marry ASAP :p). However:

1. The h, Penelope, was a bit of a TSTL. She'd be perfectly fine, then do something that'd set my eyes rolling. She had a suitor that jilted her at the altar and rob her family off of money and valuable stuff, on the same day. When her father dies after the shock of being ruined (mother passed away long ago), she and her younger sister, Aubrey, are forced to come to London since they were in dire financial trouble. Her plan was to seek out that guy and confront him about the money and valuables. I understood she was desperate, so I didn't mind it at first even though she had no idea of what to do, no plans to speak of. I didn't mind it when Phineas's generous and kind mother, The Countess of Fenhurst, took them in but Penelope decides not to divulge everything to veritable strangers. I knew she was ashamed as she held herself responsible for their ruin, so I thought it was fine. Then, she and Phineas finally acknowledge their feelings, with him knowing everything and trying to avenge her. He knew that man to be dangerous and made sure Penelope knew as well. She knew she isn't supposed to be going out, alone, and anywhere near him. Yet, in the end, why would she willingly step into that guy's trap just because he send her a letter stating she meet him urgently... alone? That was so..... *SMH* It didn't work that the author made it look like it was Phineas's fault somehow.

2. This reminds me of something that I forgot to add earlier; Phineas's butler calling the Countess 'Her Grace' in one scene in the beginning... er, isn't that something saved only for Dukes and Duchesses (Her/His/Your Grace)?

3. Why is this story titled The Midnight Rake? Phineas was an adorable H TBH; kind, honest and a veritable gentleman. Not even a womanizer from whatever I saw in this book and the previous installments; so far from what a 'rake' by definition is. The only woman I saw him panting after the whole story was Penelope, which is how it should be, so I don't see the point.

Now I need to know if poor Julia, Phineas's younger sister, has a story or not. After being ignored by her crush Devlin in book 2 and dropped by her spineless suitor in this one, she deserves her HEA! She may come off a bit strong sometimes but I don't think she has harmed anyone to have to suffer so. *sigh*

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Corrupted by Sapphire Knight

Sunday, July 26, 2015

I'm hosting a promo spotlight on Sapphire Knight's MC Romance, Corrupted (Russkaya Mafiya #4), today, as the part of the ongoing VBT. Also find teasers and excerpt for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes a $10 Amazon GC, so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below.
Corrupted
Sapphire Knight
(Russkaya Mafiya/Oath Keepers MC #4)
Published: June 28, 2015
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25628875-corrupted

Viktor- 
I was bred for this. For Mafiya.
Instead, I relinquished my crown to my younger brother.
I’m the dirty side of the Mafiya.
I clean up the messes. The bodies. The problems.
Here in America, I’m the Russian King.
I never expected to want my mark. To crave her, to need her.
One thing about being the leader of the Bratva, I always get what I want.
I’m corrupted, I never promised to play fair.

Elaina-
Unwanted and unloved.
I lay in that hospital bed, broken.
One bad decision and I almost killed someone,
myself included.
The dark shadow coming to finish the job,
turns out to be my bright light.
I try to hold back, fighting temptation.
Who would want someone so damaged?
He doesn’t know it, but I’m good at keeping secrets.
You have to be, when you have so many.

Buy Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | KOBO | iTunes

Duke of Darkness by Anabelle Bryant

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Duke of Darkness
Three Regency Rogues #2

Anabelle Bryant
Historical Romance
Published in 2014

H/h - Devlin Ravensdale, the Duke of Wharncliffe/Alexandra Grantchester
Setting: Regency England.

Read in July, 2015.
My rating:

3.5 stars because even after all the things that bugged me throughout, it was an entertaining read. No full review so I'm just gonna try to summarize a bit of what bugged me.

The plot was predictable, characters melodramatic (I did quite a bit of eye-rolling). It wasn't as dark as I thought it'd be, not even by half. I also agree with one review that says Dukes were the highest ranking peer, right after the Royalty, so Devlin being shunned by the Ton for whatever reasons was unbelievable. He was young, handsome with an air of mystery about him. He was as rich as, if not more, than Croesus. Any mama with a marriageable daughter would feel grateful if she could make him her son-in-law. No one cared about a Duke's private life or family drama. They wanted the social status that went with the marriage.

Even Lexi's father's (who is not a peer) dismissive attitude towards him was unbelievable.

Lexi was so 'perfect' in everything (from looks to deportment) that I found nothing special about her. And it felt like Devlin basically fell for her because of her beauty, since that's what he'd been waxing poetics about throughout, over and over again. A case of insta-lust, definitely. Love, maybe... don't know.

Last, but not the least, all the while Devlin stated that he was used to living his life the way he wanted to, society can go take a hike seeing how they treated him due to his family's scandalous past. He wanted Lexi more than anything in the world too. Then why, even knowing Lexi returns his affection, he'd balk several times citing reasons like she's his ward, that the society will shun her too etc. etc? Even when she said she didn't care about any of that? I mean, he lived by his own rules, nothing should've stand in his way to marry Lexi and make her his own! Very contradictory IMO. *SMH*

Good writing and had potentials but, as a whole, wasn't executed well enough.

Hold 1 by Jayne Blue

Friday, July 24, 2015

Hold 1
Hold Trilogy #1

Jayne Blue
Contemporary/New Adult
Published in 2015

H/h - Craddock Flynn/Cassidy Parker
Setting: Present time.

Read in June-July, 2015.
My rating:

                                                  [spoiler alert]

Hold 1 of Hold Trilogy is my first try at Jayne Blue’s writing. Have to say, apart from a few typos here and there, I didn’t have a lot to complain. The storyline was pretty fleshed out, with characters you’d like to know more about. And it’s only the beginning of Craddock and Cassidy’s journey.

Cassidy is an orphan and has been raised in different foster homes until she met Bev, a kind, generous woman who over the years has become her big sister of sort. With her help Cassidy has grown up to be a brilliant student, with excellent grades. But grades come at a price, as do living all on your own. One day, when she finds herself looking at the ‘hiring’ sign at the Great Wolves Gym or GWG, Cassidy was desperate for a job. She was almost penniless and on the verge of being thrown out of her shabby little apartment. What she didn’t know that her life would be changed once she stepped into that place and met Craddock Flynn.

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: Cockpit by Kate Deveaux

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Today I'm hosting a promo spotlight on Kate Deveaux's erotic contemporary romance, Cockpit, as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment.

Kate Deveaux will be awarding a $15 and a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to randomly drawn winners via rafflecopter during the tour
Cockpit 
Kate Deveaux
Published: June 3, 2015 by Ellora's Cave
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25647114-cockpit


 High school sweethearts re unite forty years later at 37,000 feet.

Fifty eight year old commercial airline pilot, Bobbi Cooper, gets a blast from the past when her high school sweetheart, Mack McConnell, appears as one her first class passengers on her 747 transatlantic flight to London.

Used to being in control at all times, Bobbi is reeling from a crummy marriage and she must learn at Mack’s capable hands that losing control can be oh so sexy.



Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | Ellora's Cave

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (501) contemporary (500) other authors (458) blog tour (441) book spotlight/promo (440) erotica (360) author giveaway (326) novella (218) paranormal (98) new adult (94) medieval (93) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (84) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (51) requested review (49) western (40) guest post (29) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) 5+stars (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) carla kelly (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) eliza lloyd (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) erica taylor (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) janine ashbless (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) sci fi (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation