Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

If the Viscount Falls by Sabrina Jeffries

Saturday, January 31, 2015

If the Viscount Falls
The Duke's Men #4

Sabrina Jeffries
Historical Romance
Pub date: January 27, 2015 (ARC review)

H/h - Dominic Manton, Viscount Rathmoor/Jane Vernon
Setting: London, 1829.

Read in January, 2015.
My rating:

                                                         [spoiler alert]

Sabrina Jeffries’ The Duke’s Men series is coming to an end with its 4th installment, If the Viscount Falls. I’ve admired this series right from the start, enjoyed the lives of these Duke’s Men, as they were called. Dom, or Dominic Manton, has been the heart and soul of Manton’s Investigations, and finally we get to read his story. I generally love Ms. Jeffries’ writing and the premise of a second chance romance seemed perfect as it was building since the beginning of this series. Unfortunately, all I got is this impression; when two superbly stubborn people fall in love, that relationship is doomed right from the start. Can’t say I enjoyed the sensation throughout the story.

If you want to be introduced to the protagonists of this series, you should probably start with the Hellions of Hallstead Hall, where some of these Duke’s Men were secondary characters. The rest were introduced along the way. It’s not strictly necessary but fun nonetheless. ‘The Duke’s Men’ is a fancy name for Manton’s Investigation. Dom’s younger half-siblings (his deceased father, the viscount’s mistress’s children) used to help him running this company. Though Dom’s elder brother, George, who couldn’t stand the sight of either Tristan or Lisette, Dom was fond of both and appreciated having them close. Thus he was been banished and disinherited. But Dom never cared a whit. He made a living out of this business, with aplomb no doubt.

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Forbidden by Charlotte Stein

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Today, I'm hosting a promo spotlight on Charlotte Stein's latest erotic contemporary romance, Forbidden (Under the Skin #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. In the following, also find teasers and excerpt for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes 5 ebooks of book 1, Intrusion, don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
Forbidden
Charlotte Stein
(Under the Skin #2)
Published: January 27, 2015 by Avon Impulse
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23433424-forbidden 

They say I need help. Another exorcism. This is not new. This is my life. Today, I expect to suffer at the hands of a man as warped by superstition and fear as my mother. A man who will torture me in order to save me from things that don't exist.

But the man who actually comes to me is different.

Killian is good and decent, and he sees what's good and decent in me. And I don't mean for it to happen, but every time he looks at me, his gaze sets me on fire. He brings me to the light, gives me back my life. For the first time, I see a future for myself.

A future with him.

I burn for Killian-a man who's intent on protecting me. On healing me.

He doesn't get it. The only thing that can heal me is him. But Killian will soon be a priest. Untouchable. Forbidden.

How can I ask a man to choose between me … and God?

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N

Release Day Blitz and Giveaway: Bound by Flames by Jeaniene Frost

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Jeaniene Frost's latest paranormal romance, Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3), releases today! Here is a complete promo as a part of the release day blitz. The giveaway includes a $25 GC to an e-tailer of your choice so don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!
BoundByFlames_Banner
Bound by Flames
Jeaniene Frost
(Night Prince #3)
Published: January 27, 2015 by Avon
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16173427-bound-by-flames

boundbyflamesPlay with fire, pay the price.

Leila’s years on the carnie circuit were certainly an education. What she didn’t learn: how to be a vampire, or how to be married to the most famous vampire of them all. Adjusting to both has Leila teetering on a knife edge between passion and peril, and now the real danger is about to begin…

Vlad must battle with a centuries-old enemy whose reach stretches across continents and whose strength equals his own. It isn’t like Vlad to feel fear, but he does…for Leila, because his enemy knows she is Vlad’s greatest weakness. As friend and foe alike align against him—and his overprotectiveness drives Leila away—Vlad’s love for his new bride could be the very thing that dooms them both…


Praise for Bound by Flames:

“Frost’s incredible patented brand of gripping romance ensures the threats are terrifyingly real and the emotions utterly intense. This is one dark ride, so hang on tight!”--RT Book Reviews, 4.5 Stars, Top Pick!

''I always open a Frost book with happy anticipation.'' --Charlaine Harris

''New and returning readers alike will enjoy this warmhearted and often hot-blooded adventure.'' --Publishers Weekly

Buy Link:

Promo Spotlight and Giveaway: Pressure Rising by Rhonda Lee Carver

Monday, January 26, 2015

Today, I'm hosting this promo spotlight on Rhonda Lee Carver's sexy contemporary cowboy novel, Pressure Rising (Rhinestone Cowgirls #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment. The giveaway includes 2 ebooks of Under Pressure (book #1), don't forget to enter via rafflecopter below!

Pressure Rising
Rhonda Lee Carver
(Rhinestone Cowgirls #2)
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24334163-pressure-rising

Carrying a shotgun lands her into trouble…and under the spell of a cowboy

Pearl learned the hard way that DJ is a poison that needs to be eradicated from her neighboring land. Although she hates him with a passion, killing him isn’t part of her plan. When the shotgun fires and DJ is wounded, she wishes she left the gun at home.

DJ has a pain in his butt—literally. Thanks to Pearl with her poor shooting skills and temper. He knew all along that she had it out for him, but shooting him in his backside was a little too close for comfort. When she shows up on his doorstep— after prodding from her family—apologizing and offering to ‘nurse’ him back to health, he can’t help but imagine all of the opportunities at his fingertips. His sweetest revenge would be to prove that she has feelings for him, and with a little of his country-boy charm, she might lose the emotional barriers and stop treating him like the devil’s spawn.

One touch and Pearl is hooked. Changing the bandage on DJ’s nice, tight buns starts a fervor within her that leads her down a delicious path—and straight into DJ’s strong, awaiting arms. She realizes shutting him out isn’t as easy as building another wall of protection. He’s in her blood and she’s addicted. And her cowboy is determined to unlock all of her closed doors.

Buy Links:
Amazon US | Amazon UK

The Prince by Sylvain Reynard

Sunday, January 25, 2015

The Prince (novella)
The Florentine #0.5

Sylvain Reynard
Contemporary Romance/Paranormal
Pub date: January 20, 2015 (ARC review)

H/h - The Prince/Not Specific Yet.
Setting: Present time.

Read in January, 2015.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

Sylvain Reynard’s The Prince was a short paranormal novella that basically gave us an intro to the new series, The Florentine. The whole story revolves around, yes, the life and the nocturnal activities of the Prince of the underworld of Florence. I can’t give you his name since he has only been noted as the “Prince”.

If you haven’t read Gabriel’s Inferno series here is what you missed. In the last installment, Gabriel’s Redemption, we were given hints that there’d be a spinoff taking a new direction. Gabriel’s Inferno series is contemporary romance without any hint of paranormal in it. So it was a very surprising turn of events for me. When Gabriel and his wife, Julia, visits Italy, they attend an exhibition of valuable paintings where Gabriel’s own collections were on display. There, they find a mysterious man seem to be following them throughout the gallery. He had pale skin, blonde hair and startling gray eyes. But that was all... At the time, I didn’t think much about that guy, until I read SR’s blog posts.

My Loving Vigil Keeping by Carla Kelly

Saturday, January 24, 2015

My Loving Vigil Keeping

Carla Kelly
Historical/Christian Romance (based on true incident)
Published in 2012

H/h - Owen Davis/Della Anders
Setting: Scofield, Utah, 1899-1900.

Read in January, 2015.
My rating:

                                               [spoiler alert]

I generally don’t read religious-themed novels, if ever, but Carla Kelly’s My Loving Vigil Keeping was so much more than just that. Not only was it rich in narratives but also a well researched novel based on a turn of the century mining town. But the most special thing about this novel was the fact that it was based on the Scofield Mining Disaster of May 1, 1900; a tragedy that took the lives of at last 200 miners on that fateful day.

I’ve never heard of the Scofield tragedy until I began reading the reviews of this book. Even then I didn’t really pay much attention to it, not knowing what to expect. What I didn’t expect is to completely get absorbed in the lives of these miners. Carla Kelly quite successfully blended her research into a fictional world that kept me hooked till the end. It’s then I begin reading about the tragedy and how it all happened. The information is not complete, and no one still knows exactly what happened inside the mines (#1 and #4) since high-tech equipments were unavailable at that time. My heart broke for these miners who passed on, also for their families who suffered thru the tragedy God knows for how long afterwards. I could only hope those miners didn’t suffer much... Unfortunately, even knowing that everything in this book led up to that disaster so that I’m prepared for it didn’t make it any more bearable when the inevitable happened. It broke my heart all the same.

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: A Grave Inheritance by Kari Edgren

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Today, I'm featuring Kari Edgren's historical fantasy romance, A Grave Inheritance (Goddess Born #2), as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. In the following, find a complete promo and an excerpt for your enjoyment.

Kari Edgren will be awarding a $25 Amazon/B&N gift card
A Grave Inheritance
Kari Edgren
(Goddess Born #2)
 Published: December 1, 2014 by Carina Press
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23391020-a-grave-inheritance 

Selah Kilbrid may descend from the goddess Brigid, but her heart beats—and breaks—the same as any human. Yet enduring the scorn of London's most noble lords and ladies is a small price to pay for a chance at true happiness. Selah would endure much more for love, and her betrothed, Lord Henry Fitzalan, is prepared to challenge anyone foolish enough to stand in their way—even another goddess born.

But when a captivating young gentleman draws Selah into a world shadowed by secrets, she is forced to confront her darkest fears. What if some differences are too great to overcome and a future with Henry is doomed from the start?

With these doubts threatening her impending marriage, a violent attack on an innocent child pushes Selah to the very edge of her power. She must find a way to cross into the Otherworld and regain her strength—or forfeit the streets of London to death and disease.

Buy Links:

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (501) contemporary (500) other authors (458) blog tour (441) book spotlight/promo (440) erotica (360) author giveaway (326) novella (218) paranormal (98) new adult (94) medieval (93) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (84) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (51) requested review (49) western (40) guest post (29) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) 5+stars (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) carla kelly (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) eliza lloyd (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) erica taylor (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) janine ashbless (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) sci fi (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation