Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Blurb Blitz and Giveaway: When A Taker Dreams by J.A. Jackson

Thursday, December 31, 2015

Today, as the last tour for 2015, I'm hosting a promo on J.A. Jackson's erotic contemporary romance, When A Taker Dreams, as a part of the ongoing blurb blitz tour. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment. Note that When A Taker Dreams will be .99c during this tour!

J.A. Jackson will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour
When A Taker Dreams
J.A. Jackson

Cierra Cantrell has had little experience with men after a painful experience in her life left her too insecure to discover and free the passionate woman within.

After following the advice of her mother, Cierra agrees to accept family friend Isabella Duvall’s offer for help in obtaining a marriage of convenience.

When Isabella’s gorgeous brother—shows up, Cierra can’t stop dreaming about him. Lust is a powerful emotion!

Buy Link:

Sweetest Scoundrel by Elizabeth Hoyt

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Sweetest Scoundrel
Mainden Lane #9

Elizabeth Hoyt
Historical Romance
Published in 2015

H/h - Asa Makepeace/Eve Dinwoody
Setting: London, 1741.

Read in December, 2015.
My rating:

                                                       [spoiler alert]

Now here is the thing. Apart from Karen Marie Moning’s Highlanders series, I don’t remember reading and reviewing a series that crossed its 8th book mark. Elizabeth Hoyt’s epic series, Maiden Lane, has done that with more installments on the way (YAY Me!). Sweetest Scoundrel was as long time coming! The ones who have read the books as they published since 2011 would know what I mean. We wanted Asa’s book in... like what? Forever? Finally, it was time for his story to be told, and to find some answers of those questions surrounding his mysterious appearance and disappearances throughout.

For us, the Maiden Lane addicts, Asa has been the stuff of... er, mystery, if not legend. He’s the only Makepeace sibling whose story was left to be told. Sweetest Scoundrel not only answered my questions but also, for the first time, we were introduced to Verity and Concord, the two eldest Makepeace siblings who were always there by mention but never by presence. All I can say is do not read this series out of order!

Of course, I have no idea how to do my usual recap with so many installments passed, but I’ll try nonetheless. Maiden Lane originally was based in St. Giles and revolved around a shadowy character with Harlequin costume and a mask to protect his identity; who went by the name of The Ghost of St. Giles. He was a legend among the locals; some thought him a friend, while others thought him the bad guy. But no one really knew who he was and what the hell he was doing, running in the dark alleyways of St. Giles every night, evading the law enforcement send out to catch him. The series also originally started with 3 Makepeace siblings—Temperance, Asa, Silence and Winter, with Concord and Verity already married and moving on with their familes. The siblings used to run an orphanage badly in need of financial help, passed down to them by their deceased sire. That was about to change soon, one night, in book 1 Wicked Intentions, when Temperance met Lazarus, Lord Caire, who was on the trail of The Ghost, wanting revenge for a wrongdoing. As they both found each-other, Lazarus’ mother, the dowager, helped them finding patronage for the Orphanage from the peers who wished to help. That’s how we come to know about Lady Hero, the sister of the Duke of Wakefield, Maximus. Hero gets her HEA in book 2, Notorious Pleasures with Lord Griffin Reading. Lady Phoebe was introduced as Hero and Maximus’ youngest, gradually going blind, sister.

Book Blast and Giveaway: Pistol Whipped by Ashley Bostock

Monday, December 28, 2015

The book blast of Ashely Bostock's erotic contemporary romance, Pistol Whipped (Girls with Guns #3), is taking place today. Find a complete promo and an excerpt for your enjoyment in the following.

Ashley Bostock will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour
Pistol Whipped
Ashley Bostock
(Girls with Guns #3)
Publication: November 5, 2015
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27777297-pistol-whipped
She’d known him for forever…

Gabriella Crawford has been best friends with Logan since the 2nd grade, but that’s all they’d ever been…friends. Suddenly after 20 years, Gabbie starts to notice Logan in a different light. But sex has never been something Gabbie thought was great and it’s certainly not something worth risking a friendship over. Or is it?

He’d never really seen her until now… Logan Reeves should not be looking at his best friend’s breasts. Not even when he sees her modeling lingerie. But try as he might to stay in the ‘friend zone’ Logan can’t stop fantasizing about Gabbie. And when a business trip forces them to sleep in the same bed, all bets are off. Especially once Logan finds out Gabbie needs to be shown how good sex can be…

But is it too late?

Incredible sex might not be enough to keep these two together. Not when old secrets from the past and new career opportunities threaten to rip Logan and Gabbie apart forever.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | iBooks

The Highwayman by Kerrigan Byrne

Saturday, December 26, 2015

The Highwayman
Victorian Rebels #1

Kerrigan Byrne
Historical Romance
Published in 2015

H/h - Dorian Blackwell/Farah Leigh Townsend
Setting: London/Scotland, 1872.

Read in November/December, 2015. 
My rating:

                                                          [spoiler alert]

I’m a big fan of Kerrigan’s Highland Historical novellas so I wasn’t surprised to find that she was getting a full-length novel published by a publisher. She’s good at what she does; her stories are intriguing, heroes hot, heroines smart and strong, smexy times superb. The Highwayman had everything and more. It was also a lot darker read than my expectation but it was an interesting read nonetheless.

The Highwayman is the first book in the brand new Victorian Rebels series. It’s not connected to her Highland Historical novellas in any way. The prologue sets up a dark yet magical tone to the story that only makes you wanna turn the pages to know what happened next. Two young children– a boy of 12 and a girl of around 8– meeting in a long-forgotten abbey, which also served as an orphanage for the illegitimate children of the high-ranking families. Dougan and Farah’s first meeting was quite haunting, especially when a tragedy was waiting to happen soon and force them apart...

Dougan is the illegitimate son of one Laird MacKenzie, who hated his bastard; just how much is revealed much later in the story. Dougan hasn’t known anything close to affection since his mother’s passing when he was young. And this orphanage is the last place a child should expect any. Corrupt priest and sisters run this place; who not only keep the children hungry and dirty, but prey on them as well. Dougan’s life was no exception. Being the rebel he was receiving beating was a daily thing for him. His life though, changes one day when a beautiful blonde girl sidles her way in. She not only finds out his hiding place where he went to vent his tears of anger and frustration, but also, gradually, claims his heart.  Farah isn’t scared of his scowls and rudeness. Even at that tender age, tending to the wounded seemed to be her thing. Soon, the secret meetings turn into be something different. A strong bond out of love and necessity forges between them. Dougan even ends up handfasting himself with Farah. I know they were very young even to know what marriage or handfasting was, but Dougan felt an almost inhumane urge to protect Farah from any danger even then. He knew the corrupt priests and what they can do to the unsuspecting young children. He had to grow up early. Farah was so beautiful even at that age that it was a given that she’d be preyed upon sooner or later unless something was done. That apprehension soon becomes reality, and though Farah manages to escape, they get entangled into a mire of tragedies which saw the priest murdered, Dougan to prison and Farah somewhere else.

Saving Jax by Ramona Gray

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Saving Jax

Ramona Gray
Contemporary Romance/Erotica
Published in 2015

H/h - Jax Anderson/Melanie Thomas
Setting: Present time.

Read in December, 2015.
My rating:

                                                 [spoiler alert]

Last year, I read this freebie called The Escort by this new author; a book that came as quite the surprise for me. Ramona Gray’s story was short and sweet, and even being a novella, it gave me that sense of completion that many novellas lack in general. I also loved the couple so much that wanted more glimpses of them. I was thinking that she may write a sequel for the brother, but it didn’t cross my mind that the sister would get there first! LOL

The Escort started out when Julie, a rich yet reclusive girl, hires an escort to get rid of her V card. The hired escort, Cal, had some issues going on so he asks his twin, Court, to fill in for him. Court may look like Cal but nothing like him in so many other ways. Cal is all dashing good-looks, full of oozing charm, which comes handy in his “profession”, while Court, though as goodlooking as Cal, is more of a laidback guy. He’s also in the construction business. Court, of course, didn’t wanna be a part of this new shenanigan by his brother but the moment he meets Julie, he couldn’t deny the attraction. Oh Julie is not your average looking attractive girl with tans. She’s quite overweight, which has always been the bane of her existence. She’s also very shy with men, for which we can thank her now deceased overbearing and extremely controlling father.

Cover Reveal: Unrequited by Max Henry

Friday, December 18, 2015

Today, we're revealing the cover for Max Henry's upcoming new series the Fallen Aces MC book #1, Unrequited! Check it out!!

Unrequited
Max Henry
(Fallen Aces MC #1)
Expected Publication: February 16, 2016
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27840133-unrequited
She was, still is, and will never be anything but my everything.

Our love was all consuming, passionate, and forbidden. We took risks to be together, carrying on an affair for years before her psychotic drug lord husband found the truth behind the lies. She barely escaped with her life … and that of my newborn son.

My club president told me that our love was no longer worth the risk, gave me a choice, and loyalty to the club being what it is, I walked away from her. I left behind the only thing I’ve ever wanted more than life itself and remained the dutiful soldier to a corrupt leader.

Six years and a promotion to club president later, it’s time the lies stopped. She IS worth the risk, I’ve NEVER gone a day without thinking about her OR my son, and I know underneath it all she DOES still love me. She just won’t admit it … yet.

It’s time to run this club my way and make my family what it should have always been—complete. The road may have been long and lonely, but the journey is far from over.

Pre-Order Links:

Promo Spotlight: Sweet Talkin' Cowboy by Darlene Panzera

Thursday, December 17, 2015

I'm hosting this promo spotlight, today, on Darlene Panzera's latest contemporary western romance, Sweet Talkin' Cowboy (Montana Hearts #2), as a part of the ongoing VBT. Also find an excerpt for your enjoyment.

Sweet Talkin' Cowboy
Darlene Panzera
(Montana Hearts #2)
Published: December 15, 2015 by Avon Books
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24805720-sweet-talkin-cowboy
Darlene Panzera continues her heartwarming Western series with a roughed-up cowboy, the feisty girl next door, and the deal that brings them together

If it wasn’t for an injury to his leg, Luke Collins would be riding rodeo broncos all day, every day. Until he heals, he’s determined to help his family’s guest ranch bring in money any way he can. But when a cranky neighbor gets in the way of his goal, Luke turns to the only person he knows can help: the gorgeous, rodeo-barrel-racing spitfire next door.

It’s no secret: Sammy Jo’s father is a pain in the neck. But if anyone can persuade him, it’s her. So when Luke asks for help, Sammy Jo is more than willing to make a deal with the handsome cowboy. The cost? He’s gotta get back up on that horse—with Sammy Jo’s help, of course.

As teamwork reveals a deeper connection, Luke finds himself falling for the beautiful girl next door. But to win her heart? He’ll just have to do whatever it takes.

Buy Links:
Amazon | B&N | HarperCollins | iBooks

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

contemporary (495) historical (495) other authors (450) blog tour (433) book spotlight/promo (431) erotica (358) author giveaway (321) novella (217) paranormal (97) medieval (93) new adult (93) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (82) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (51) requested review (47) western (40) guest post (29) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) 5+stars (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) carla kelly (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation