Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Wild Burn by Edie Harris

Monday, September 30, 2013

Wild Burn
Wild State #1

Edie Harris
Historical Romance/Western
Published in 2013

H/h - Delaney Crawford/Moira Tully
Setting: Colorado Territory, 1865.

Read in Sept, 2013.
My rating:

                                              [spoiler alert]

I had to read Wild Burn by Edie Harris after finishing the extraordinary The Corrupt Comte. Wild Burn was a sweet, easy western read, lacking the darker aspects of The Corrupt Comte. I enjoyed Wild Burn, though it wasn’t as gripping as the other book. The H Delaney or Del and h, Moira were a fine couple and I loved reading about them finding and falling in love.

The story takes place in a small town somewhere in the Colorado Territory, Red Creek. Moira is a former nun who has been living here for some months now, working as a school teacher. She’s also working with a local Red Indian named John White Horse to bring the surrounding Indian tribes into the society. One tribe particularly at any case, John’s uncle’s. Moira thinks this is for the best, as does John. Moira has a secret of her own that led her to shed her nun’s gown and live in this wild town. She doesn’t like to think of her past, living day to day, working hard... Even though she thinks this is her new life, Moira can’t help but feel the emptiness from time to time. And then Delaney Crawford happens in her life with quite the big splash. It turns out, the ‘dog man’ hunter and a former soldier, Delaney is called upon by Sheriff Nelson to check out a bad group of Indians who have been terrorizing the town for sometimes now. Moira certainly doesn’t think this is a good idea, no matter how handsome the man is or how much he turns her on... definitely not because he bloody shot at her on their awkward intro!

Cover Reveal: Love, Life & Everything Else by Xunaira J.

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Excited today to feature this Cover Reveal of fellow blogger and author Xunaira J.'s upcoming release, Love, Life & Everything Else. Check out the lovely cover!!

 


Meet Sarah, a nine year old girl with a talent for painting and an adoptive family who supports her in everything she does. She lives a happy life with her foster father who is her idol and her foster mother who loves her unconditionally. Little does she know that her past will come back to haunt her and an atrocity that happened nine year ago would come to light. What will be Sarah’s reaction when her biological parents claim her?

Sandy is scared, worried and somewhat irritated because of the weird voices she hears from the attic above. With the help of her best friend, Anne, she decides to find out the source of this all racket but what will she find hidden up there? Would the truth shock her?

Will the frail, old and lonely novelist who had managed to incur an emotion so inside him be able to change the course of his life?

Self-made and hardworking Jenny was looking forward to the opening ceremony of her novel when she is subjected to the hatred and scorn of her best friend, Cindy and made a laughingstock in town. Will Jenny be able to hold her head high? 

Promo Spotlight and Excerpt: "I Like Your Form" Confessions of a Personal Trainer by JD Holmes

Friday, September 27, 2013

Today, I'm featuring something way different than what I generally read. "I Like Your Form" Confessions of a Personal Trainer by JD Holmes is an autobiographical narratives, based on his real life experiences as a personal trainer. In the following you'll find the necessary information on the book, an excerpt and the means to connect with the author.


"I Like Your Form" Confessions of a Personal Trainer
JD Holmes

After graduating from high school and working several dead-end jobs, JD landed a job as a personal trainer at a newly opened gym. It puzzled him just how much money people were willing to spend to train with him despite the fact he was so inexperienced. He then started learning the ropes of the business and carved a niche for himself training well-to-do housewives and successful older women. As time goes on, he finds that not only can he help with their physical demands, he can also help them out with their erotic ones.

JD starts to fight an internal struggle between making money satisfying his clients and knowing what he is doing is wrong. All it would take is his girlfriend or any one of his clients' spouses to find out about their sultry affairs, and everything could blow up in his face causing him to lose his career. However, it's very difficult to turn away from the attention of many attractive and sexy women.

I Like Your Form is a hilarious and honest collection of stories giving advice for personal trainers and clients. Based on a true story, JD's real-life confessions provide a look at the lesser-known aspects of personal training.

Buy Links:

The Corrupt Comte by Edie Harris

Saturday, September 21, 2013

The Corrupt Comte
The Bourbon Boys Quartet #1

Edie Harris
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2013

H/h - Gaspard Toussaint/Claudia Pascale
Setting: France and England, 1820.

Read in Sept, 2013.
My rating:

                                            [spoiler alert]

The Corrupt Comte, book 1 of The Bourbon Boys Quartet, was a pure impulsive try. I hadn’t read anything by Edie Harris before but some of the reviews had me intrigued so very much that I had to read it. I was blown away, quite literally because of how exceptionally this was well-written. It’s been a while I've been so engrossed in a story that I began neglecting the other books I was reading at the same time and genuinely didn’t want it to end.

The Corrupt Comte had it all that a spy novel should have. Reminded me a lot of Gaelen Foley’s older (and the best by far) writing, the Knight Miscellany series. This had an original plot, some amazing characters, the intrigue and dark aspects... and of course the intense attraction and all consuming love. I couldn’t have expected a sexier hero than Gaspard and an adorable heroine than Claudia. None of them were perfect, and yet those imperfections drew and glued them together in an inseparable bond; a bond that was tested more than once but was never broken.

Super Book Blast and Giveaway: The Last Straw by Nia Simone

Friday, September 20, 2013

I'm featuring a Promo of Nia Simone's debut novel, The Last Straw as a part of the Super Book Blast tour. Take a look at the following for the necessary information on the book, an excerpt and how to connect with the author. The Last Straw is currently free on Amazon and will be for the week of this tour ONLY.

Nia Simone will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.


The Last Straw
Nia Simone

Ally Tobin left New York after one too many bad dates, determined to rebuild a stable life and career as a private investigator in Silicon Valley. But when the man she knew as one name walks into her office with another, will her curiosity once again lead her to risk her heart?

The last thing Special Agent Jared Green needs is "security risk" stamped on the resume of his latest undercover identity. Especially by the woman his job forced him to leave in New York without any explanation.

She may threaten his cover, but it's his heart on the line.

He's good at playing a part. She's good at catching a fake. Can they trust enough to give love another chance?

Buy Link:

Amazon 

Summer is For Lovers by Jennifer McQuiston

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Summer is For Lovers

Jennifer McQuiston
Historical Romance
Pub date: 24 Sept, 2013 (ARC review)

H/h - David Cameron/Caroline Tolbertson
Setting: Brighton, England 1842.

Read in Sept, 2013.


My rating:

                                                    
                                                  [spoiler alert]

Hmmm... Summer Is for Lovers by Jennifer McQuiston didn’t quite live up to my expectations. If you already didn’t know, I absolutely ADORED the previous book, What Happens in Scotland which was all sorts of heartwarming fun that I gulped down in just a few days. I was looking forward to David’s book, hoping that his book would shed some light on the guilt both James and David felt for an underlying issue that was addressed on WHiS. I got that, yes. I also found a marvelous heroine in Caroline. But what made me want to shake my fists in the air was David. I wanted to enjoy this book but he made me want to scream, and not in a pleasing manner... *sigh*

So what did David do?

Quite a few things actually, which have nothing to do with his ‘name twin’ BTW (read JMcQ’s hilarious blog post on that issue here.)

Promo Spotlight: Season of Storm by Alexandra Sellers

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Today I'm featuring three re-issued Historical Romances of author Alexandra Sellers, with an emphasis on Season of Storm. Both Season of Storm and Fire in the Wind are FREE TODAY (Sept 17, 2013). So hurry up and grab a copy while you can! Following are the information on the books and the ways to connect with Ms. Sellers.


Season of Storm
Original publication: Oct, 1983
Re-issued in eBook: June 13, 2013

He took her hostage—could he ever let her go?

Shulamith St. John had lived with the threat of kidnapping for most of her life, but that didn't make hersituation when it happened any less terrifying. Especially as she knew what her kidnapper did not—that her father, the ruthless lumber baron Cordwainer St. John, would not pay one cent of ransom for her.

Johnny Winterhawk didn't believe that—but he was no ordinary kidnapper. He didn't want money, he wanted to protect his tribal lands from her father's chainsaws. And then, it seemed…he wanted her.

Shulamith responded to her captor's touch with a hunger that made her feel she could trust him with her life. Their deep passion shook her, body and soul. And that was the most terrifying thing of all…

Buy Links:
Amazon | Amazon UK



Also recently re-issued in ebook...

Cover Reveal: Undertow by Amber Lynn Natusch

Monday, September 16, 2013

Today, I'm featuring a Cover Reveal. It's the cover of Undertow, a Contemporary Romance/Woman's Lit by Amber Lynn Natusch, coming in October 2013. Below is the lovely cover, alongside a teaser and the author links. Hope you enjoy and add the book to your Goodreads TBR. :) This Cover Reveal is arranged and hosted by Cristina's Book Reviews.

 

Undertow
Amber Lynn Natusch
Expected publication: October 2013

 

Cover Design: www.nathaliasuellen.com 
Photography: http://ilsemoorephotography.blogspot.com/

How far does a girl have to run to escape a lifetime of pain and loss at the hands of Alaska's notoriously unforgiving Bering Sea? Twenty-six-year-old Aesa Fredriksen thought landlocked Columbus, Ohio would suffice, and it does until the fear of regret drives her to return to Dutch Harbor in a final attempt to make amends with her nearly-estranged father. Intent on salvaging the wreckage of their relationship, she reluctantly agrees to join him—the only family she has left—as he heads out to fish for king crab, forcing her to brave the very waters that pulled him away from her as a child. The waters that stole her mother's life.
When the day finally arrives for the Norwegian Queen to sail off into an uncertain future, Aesa can't help but fear the worst. Beyond the violent swells and impending storms, there is far more than death and danger awaiting her on her journey: love awaits her too.

Decker, a young but seasoned member of her father's crew, is a force of nature as strong as Aesa, He's her perfect match, and even she can't deny it. But he too is a man of the sea, and with memories of tragedy and abandonment etched so deeply into her mind, can she overcome her demons and let him in or will she drown in her darkness, forever caught in its undertow?


 

The Hallucinatory Duke by Meta Mathews

Sunday, September 15, 2013

The Hallucinatory Duke (novella)

Meta Mathews
Contemporary Romance/Paranormal/Erotica
Published in 2012

H/h - Jack Durban/Amelia Comstock
Setting: Present time.

Read in Sept, 2013.
My rating:


                                             [spoiler alert]

The Hallucinatory Duke by Meta Matthews was a fun paranormal romance with a touch of erotica. I was totally enjoying the story because it had a very interesting premise. But unfortunately, it ends way too soon for me to enjoy it completely.

When the story starts, we find the heroine, Amelia, literally being sexually harassed by the ghost of a 19th century Duke, the Duke of Durbane. Even though the guy is sexy in his Regency-era getup and Amelia’s body tunes up whenever he’s here, she still can’t wrap her mind around it. Sure, she’s doing this research on the man on behalf of her employer, Prof. Durban, who is obsessed about finding out if he’s related to the Duke or not. But this is way too much! He’s gotta be some kinda hallucination! But his touch is anything but that. The duke not only seems real but he likes to touch her like... well, like he has every right to touch whenever he wants to. Amelia’s angry retorts towards the duke and curses, calling him a ‘perv’ etc. were really hilarious.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation