Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Redeemed by Kerrigan Byrne

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Redeemed (novella)
Highland Historical #5/The Mackays #2

Kerrigan Byrne
Medieval Romance/Paranormal/Fantasy
Published in 2013

H/h - Daroch MacLeod/Kylah MacKay
Setting: Medieval Scotland.

Read in Apr, 2013.
My rating:

                                            [spoiler alert]

Now, this was gooooood! When I read the first book of this sub-series, Released, I was disappointed because some of the things didn’t work out for me. But with Redeemed, Kerrigan proves again that she knows what she’s about. Redeemed was the story of second banshee MacKay sister, Kylah and the mysterious Druid, Daroch. I mentioned in my review of Released that I could feel the intensity and attraction between the two and I’m glad to report that that’s how it stayed all through their own book.

To Dream Again by Laura Lee Guhrke

Monday, April 29, 2013

To Dream Again

Laura Lee Guhrke
Historical Romance
Originally published in 1995

H/h - Nathaniel Chase/Mara Elliot
Setting: London, 1899.

Read in 2013
My rating:

                                           [spoiler alert]

To Dream Again by LLG had a little slower pace for my liking but overall, it was an honest, heartfelt read. The hero, Nathaniel was a whimsical inventor with a brilliant mind. No rake or bad boy but an eager, good man. The heroine, Mara had her heartaches and trust-issues, and even though at times, I was quite frustrated with her, I still liked her.

Highlander Taken by Juliette Miller

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Highlander Taken
Clan Mackenzie #2

Juliette Miller
Medieval Romance
Pub date: May 28, 2013 (ARC review)

H/h - Kade Mackenzie/Stella Camerone
Setting: The Highlands, Scotland, in the time of King William III.

Read in April, 2013
My rating:

                                         [spoiler alert]

I was so impressed with JMillier’s debut novel, Highlander Claimed, I was quite impatient to read the next in the series. I loved her writing, her intense hero and sweet heroine in book 1. But, sadly, Highlander Taken was a big disappointment for me, even though JMiller’s writing was as beautiful as ever. Maybe I had really high expectation, I don’t know but I liked neither the characters, nor the storyline.

Prelude to Heaven by Laura Lee Guhrke

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Prelude to Heaven

Laura Lee Guhrke
Historical Romance
Originally published in 1994

H/h - Alexandre Dumond, Comte le Junot/Lady Teresa Ridgeway
Setting: London and France, 1818.

Read in Apr, 2013.
My rating:

                                              [spoiler alert]

After reading and loving LLG’s Breathless and Conor's Way, I was itching to read her other older books. I’m so glad I picked Prelude to Heaven because this was a pure comfort read for me. The story was hurt-tugging and so beautiful. Our emotional and intense hero Alexandre was every girl’s dream. I liked Tess a lot too. There were tears, laughter, heartache and love. There were enjoyable banters and scenes between Alexandre and Tess that kept me entertained for the most part of the story.

The Jezebel by Saskia Walker

Friday, April 12, 2013

The Jezebel
Taskill Witches #3

Saskia Walker
Historical Romance/Paranormal/Erotica
Published in 2013 (ARC review)

H/h - Roderick Cameron/Maisie Taskill
Setting: Scotland, 1715.

Read in Apr, 2013
My rating:

                                         [spoiler alert]

Book 3 of Taskill Witches series, The Jezebel was a good read, I give you that. Once again, I loved the back-story of the witch-hunt and how everything was woven in the story in general. What I thought was missing was a good romance between Maisie and Roderick. Oh yes, there was sex aplenty, as any SW book but I thought between all the suspicions due to Maisie’s abilities and trust issues, they didn’t have enough time to connect... at least I didn’t think so. I’ll try to elaborate in my review.

A Riding Crop for Two by Karyn Gerrard

Friday, April 05, 2013

A Riding Crop for Two (novella)
Riding Crop #2

Karyn Gerrard
Historical Romance/Erotica (mild BDSM)
Published in 2013

H/h - Gideon Broyles, Lord Cravenbrooke/Olivia Durham
Setting: London, 1887.

Read in Mar/Apr, 2013
My rating:

                                               [spoiler alert]

I very well remember the free novella The Riding Crop which helped me finding a new author a year or so ago. Since then, I’ve read a few of KG’s stories. I loved that novella and thought there should’ve been a few more chapters to Olivia and Gideon’s story. But I took the end as ‘the end’. Then last month I found that they are getting another novella to wrap things up, so there was NO WAY I wasn’t reading A Riding Crop for Two. Overall, I was content with the story but some things didn’t feel ok and/or rushed (as in most short story/novellas).

The Libertine by Saskia Walker

Monday, April 01, 2013

The Libertine
Taskill Witches #2

Saskia Walker
Historical Romance/Paranormal/Erotica
Published in 2013

H/h - Lennox Taskill/Chloris Keavey
Setting: Scotland, 1715.

Read in Mar, 2013.
My rating:

                                          [spoiler alert]

At the end of book 1 of the series The Harlot, it was clearly indicated that Jessie has long lost siblings and I was hoping to read their stories too. Since I liked that book, I was really glad to know about the news of the sequels. The Libertine is Jessie’s older brother, Lennox’s story. I can’t say the whole book was fun for me because on the first half, I thought every male in it is an a-hole, and that includes Lennox too. I was quite pissed. Let me tell you in my review exactly why. But, I did love the rest because the story picked up after that, and caught me by total surprise!

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (475) contemporary (471) other authors (422) blog tour (403) book spotlight/promo (399) erotica (349) author giveaway (304) novella (213) paranormal (94) medieval (91) new adult (89) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (80) highlander (57) freebie (54) cover reveal (49) requested review (44) western (38) guest post (28) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) 5+stars (14) sabrina jeffries (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (12) kerrigan byrne (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) lisa kleypas (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) carla kelly (8) karen marie moning (8) ramona flightner (8) debra anastasia (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) gina conkle (6) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) linda broday (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) amy rose bennett (4) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) edie harris (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth moss (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) diana bold (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) laura frantz (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sports (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation