Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Succumb to Me by Julia Keaton

Friday, March 29, 2013

Succumb to Me (novella)

Julia Keaton
Historical Romance/Erotica (mild BDSM)
Published 2013

H/h - Logan Cordell/Winter Stevens
Setting: Regency.

Read in Mar, 2013.
My rating:

                                              [spoiler alert]

First of all, lemme b*tchslap Winter for being the biggest confusing little b*tch ever and making me pull out half of my hair in frustration!!

Ugh!

WOW she was some piece of work, I must say. Confused, confused... always freakin’ confused about her feelings for Logan. To top it off, she was one of those ‘I’m-the-stiff-backed-prim-little-miss’ aka judgmental of Logan, until he got his title that is.

The Spinster's Secret by Emily Larkin

Sunday, March 24, 2013

The Spinster's Secret

Emily Larkin
Historical Romance
Published in 2013

H/h - Edward Kane/Matilda Chapple
Setting: Regency England.

Read in Mar, 2013.
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert]

First of all, I can’t say enough about The Spinster's Secret by Emily Larkin. This book straight up touched my heart, so much so, that I didn’t want it to end! Matilda or Mattie, our heroine was such an amazing heroine. It’s been a while since I laughed, cried, despaired, and felt one with a character to this extent. Edward, our hero, could be a little obtuse, a little bull-headed and while scarred from the ravages of war all over his body, he was adorable in his own way. Every time I read about what he went through, it brought fresh tears in my eyes. I must give my due thanks to Ms. Larkin for writing this wonderful story.

Released by Kerrigan Byrne

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Released (novella)
Highland Historical #4/The Mackays #1

Kerrigan Byrne
Medieval Romance/Paranormal/Fantasy
Published in 2013

H/h - Rory MacKay, Laird of Mackays/Katriona Lammond
Setting: Medieval Scotland.

Read in Mar, 2013
My rating:

                                                 [spoiler alert]

I’ve been really anticipating the new Highland Historical installment from Kerrigan Byrne ever since I read the first 3 books, which were awesome in one word. I loved them all, but sadly, Released didn’t really hold my attentions with the same intensity. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good read and Kerrigan’s writing is as wonderful as ever. Personally I think she’s way better than many authors I’ve read but storywise I wasn’t really moved by this one.

Highlander Most Wanted by Maya Banks

Monday, March 18, 2013

Highlander Most Wanted
The Montgomerys and Armstrongs #2

Maya Banks
Medieval Romance
Pub date: 19 March, 2013 (ARC review)

H/h - Bowen Montgomery/Genevieve McInnes
Setting: Scotland, in the time of King Alexander II.

Read in Mar, 2013.
My rating:
  
                                                  [spoiler alert] 

Honestly I’m not even motivated to write a full review for this book, but I’ll do it anyway. When I see all those 5 stars in GR, I keep thinking if I’ve read the same book or not, because to me, Highlander Most Wanted was plain boring and disappointing. I zzzZZzz my way through the last 40% of it, while eye-rolled through almost all. I liked book 1 quite a bit more than this. I think MB needs to refresh her writing style, which was terribly repetitive and predictable. I’ve read better, much better stuff from some wonderful debut authors this year. Her storyline bordered on.......... did I mention, BORING?

New Life by Bonnie Dee

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

New Life

Bonnie Dee
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2013

H/h - Jason Reitmiller/Anna Stevens
Setting: Present time.

Read in Feb/Mar 2013.
My rating:


                                              [spoiler alert]

New Life by Bonnie was a disappointment. I’m kind of bummed. A new BD book always puts me in the ‘gonna-go-grab-it’ mood. I find her heroes generally adorable, so when I heard that this story had a scarred hero with slightly dysfunctional brain, I just had to read it. But... but... just but. The story depressed me. It was sorely lacking in emotion and intensity, something I always love and come to appreciate in BD’s stories. Another thing was the narrative which was quite distracting; first person, told alternatively from both Anna and Jason’s POV. It took me a while to get used to with who is saying what and which chapter belongs to whom.

Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt

Wednesday, March 06, 2013

Lord of Darkness
Maiden Lane #5

Elizabeth Hoyt
Historical Romance
Published in 2013

H/h - Godric St. John/Lady Margaret Reading
Setting: London, 1740.

Read in March, 2013.
My rating:

                                           [spoiler alert]

For me, Lord of Darkness was a tad on the disappointing side. I know I have ridiculously high expectation when it comes to EH’s books, and this was no exception. The installments from Maiden Lane are the most anticipating releases for me each year. EH’s writing is as good as ever (and I freely admit to always being biased towards her :p), and it’s not that I was bored. I was just not satisfied the way Megs and Godric’s relationship was portrayed. I thought it lacked the intensity and connection that EH does so well in her stories.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (495) contemporary (494) other authors (449) blog tour (432) book spotlight/promo (430) erotica (358) author giveaway (320) novella (217) paranormal (97) medieval (93) new adult (93) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (82) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (51) requested review (47) western (40) guest post (29) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) 5+stars (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) carla kelly (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation