Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Checkmate by R. L. Mathewson

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Checkmate
A Neighbor from Hell #3

R. L. Mathewson
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Connor O'Neil/Rory James
Setting: Present time.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                              [spoiler alert]

Hmm, what to write... what to write, hmmm... First of all, Checkmate was more of a disappointment for me. I spend at least 50% of it trying to like Rory and Connor really hard. I did enjoy here and there and sometimes their banters but mostly, it was hard for me to enjoy because no matter what, adults acting like kids, being insane and irresponsible, acting impulsively and not caring for other’s feelings is just not fun, certainly not for 300 or so pages. I’ve been thinking for the last 10 days about what to write in my review since the story was all over the place!

Carnally Ever After by Jackie Barbosa

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Carnally Ever After (novella)
Ever After Novellas #1

Jackie Barbosa
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2007

H/h - Alistair de Roche, the Earl of Holyfield/Lady Louisa Bennett
Setting: London, 1816.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                                               [spoiler alert]

Carnally Ever After was a fun little novella, I must say! It had me giggling all through the way. But there were those scenes that had me shaking my head, too. Even though the initial novella was too short for me, I really loved the bonus epilogue. JB is an excellent writer no doubt.

Holiday Inn by Shelby Reed

Monday, November 26, 2012

Holiday Inn (novella)

Shelby Reed
Contemporary Romance/Erotica
Published in 2005

H/h - Jesse Proffitt/Anna Shea
Setting: Present time.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert]

Ah... sigh! Holiday Inn was such a super little novella! It was a perfect blend of tears, laughter, the joy of Christmas along with a little magic to finish it off. I wasn’t sure what to expect seeing the one-night-stand tag, but of course, I should’ve known and trust in Shelby Reed.

The Emperor’s Conspiracy by Michelle Diener

Saturday, November 24, 2012

The Emperors Conspiracy

Michelle Diener
Historical Romance/Fiction
Pub date: 27 Nov, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Lord Edward Durnham/Charlotte Raven
Setting: London, 1811.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:


                                                 [spoiler alert]

I must accede to this point that Michelle Diener’s The Emperor’s Conspiracy had great potentials. I liked the author’s writing. She was a new-to-me author before I read this novel, so I didn’t know what to expect. Although I enjoyed some parts of the story, some parts left me unsatisfied and somewhat disappointed. I’ll try to elaborate in my review.

The Priestess by Elliot Mabeuse

Friday, November 23, 2012

The Priestess (novella)

Elliot Mabeuse
Ancient/Erotica
Published in 2008

H/h - Prince Nekhet/Tianfhet
Setting: Ancient Egypt.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:
 
                                                    [spoiler alert]

‘Weird’ and ‘meh’ are the two words I have for The Priestess. It’s a really short story, took me about an hour to finish.

Gabriel’s Rapture by Sylvain Reynard

Friday, November 16, 2012

Gabriels Rapture
Gabriels Inferno #2

Sylvain Reynard
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Gabriel Emerson/Julia Mitchell
Setting: Present time.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                                                      [spoiler alert]

Gabriel's Rapture, book 2 in Gabriel’s Inferno series gave me loads of mixed feelings. This was one of my most anticipated releases of 2012, and that could be one reason. Why, you ask? I had ridiculously high expectations. I also have loads of complaints about the storyline, which left me heartbroken and frustrated to say the least. But there were things that I liked and appreciated too. Let’s see if I can elaborate in the following.

Unwanted by Kerrigan Byrne

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Unwanted (novella)
Highland Historical #3/The MacLauchlans #3

Kerrigan Byrne
Medieval Romance/Fantasy/Paranormal
Published in 2012

H/h - Finn (MacLauchlan)/Rhona McEwan
Setting: Scotland, 1411.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                                           [spoiler alert]

Just finished Unwanted and I’m already going on a withdrawal of sexy Highlander Berserkers! Book 3 of Highland Historical was excellent in one word. It had everything, even as a novella; love, passion, loyalty and a thrilling story with three sexy berserkers that got me hooked till the end. Yet again, Kerrigan delivers!

Unwilling by Kerrigan Byrne

Monday, November 12, 2012

Unwilling (novella)
Highland Historical #2/The MacLauchlans #2

Kerrigan Byrne
Medieval Romance/Fantasy/Paranormal
Published in 2012

H/h - Connor MacLauchlan/Lindsay Ross
Setting: Scotland, 1411.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                                      [spoiler alert]
Ah, yes! Another winner from Kerrigan! Unwilling is the second installment in Highland Historical series with another sexy berserker hero and a spirited heroine. What can I say? Loved it? Well, of course I did! Connor was my dream come true berserker with a name that never fails to make me w... erm, uh, shiver. *heehee*

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (475) contemporary (471) other authors (422) blog tour (403) book spotlight/promo (399) erotica (349) author giveaway (304) novella (213) paranormal (94) medieval (91) new adult (89) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (80) highlander (57) freebie (54) cover reveal (49) requested review (44) western (38) guest post (28) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) 5+stars (14) sabrina jeffries (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (12) kerrigan byrne (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) lisa kleypas (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) carla kelly (8) karen marie moning (8) ramona flightner (8) debra anastasia (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) gina conkle (6) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) linda broday (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) amy rose bennett (4) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) edie harris (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) eliza lloyd (2) elizabeth moss (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) silvia violet (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) diana bold (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) janine ashbless (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) laura frantz (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sci fi (1) sports (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation