Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Ravishing the Heiress by Sherry Thomas

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Ravishing the Heiress
Fitzhugh Trilogy #2

Historical Romance
Sherry Thomas
Published in 2012

H/h - George 'Fitz' Fitzhugh, the Earl of Fitzhugh/Millicent Graves
Setting: London, 1896.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:
                                                       
                                                [spoiler alert]
 

Lady Seductresse’s Ball by Eliza Knight

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Lady Seductresss Ball (novella)

Eliza Knight
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2011

H/h - Tristan Knightley, the Earl of Newcastle/Lady Olivia Covington
Setting: London, 1815.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                             [spoiler alert]

This must be my unlucky month. I’ve read a few novellas this month from some new authors; most of them came off as either really bad or just frustrating. Lady Seductress’s Ball was plain bad. I didn’t enjoy it at all, mostly because I despised the main characters, especially the heroine Olivia. And Tristan, as a hero, was just dull. Even though it’s an erotic novella, I can’t but help thinking, couldn’t the author do better than this?

The Warrior Laird by Margo Maguire

Thursday, July 26, 2012

The Warrior Laird
Highlander Brothers #1

Margo Maguire
Historical Romance
Pub date: 31 July, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Dugan MacMillan, the Laird of MacMillan/Maura Duncanson
Setting: The Highlands, Scotland, 1717.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                  [spoiler alert]

The Warrior Laird is my first book by Margo Maguire. While I did love the author’s writing and the historical aspects, the rush of fortune hunting and Highlands, overall, somehow, I didn’t find the book excellent. MM can write without a doubt, but I had trouble with the characters. Both Logan and Maura were too confused over what to do with each-other throughout the story. Also, there was repetition of information all over the book which bugged me too much.

Unbuttoning Miss Hardwick by Deb Marlowe

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Unbuttoning Miss Hardwick

Deb Marlowe
Historical Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Braedon Denning, the Marquess of Marland/Chloe Hardwick
Setting: London, Regency era (sometimes after the war).

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert] 

Honestly, Unbuttoning Miss Hardwick was up at Netgalley for ARC review but I wasn’t remotely interested in requesting it. One, because I don’t usually request from authors I haven’t tried before. Two, I thought it was another of those rakes-unbuttoning-some-spinster theme. Not that I don’t like that theme, but not every author can morph such a common theme into something amazing. But, the reason I’m blabbering on is that I was SO GIGANTICALLY wrong about everything! This book had a slow burn quality; on the outside, you’ll think it’s too slow and Braedon’s activities might annoy you at some point. But, Unbuttoning Miss Hardwickalso had some really beautiful and soul searching moments for both the main characters, which makes us, the readers also aware of our inner-selves.

The Theory of Attraction by Delphine Dryden

Friday, July 20, 2012

The Theory of Attraction
The Science of Temptation #1

Delphine Dryden
Contemporary Romance/Erotica (mild BDSM)
Published in 2012

H/h - Ivan Reynolds/Camilla Novak
Setting: Houston, present time.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                    [spoiler alert]

When I heard about this book, I was very intrigued. I mean a nerd hero? I’d LOVE to read about one as I generally do. Then I heard he’s into BDSM. OH boy! The theme sounded so good that I couldn’t even wait for it and grabbed a copy as soon as it came out.............

Kilt-A-Licious by Catherine Bybee

Monday, July 16, 2012

Kilt-A-Licious (novella)
A followup of Kilt Worthy

Catherine Bybee
Contemporary Romance/Time Travel/Erotica (with M/F/M)
Published in 2010

H/h - Chase Donnach/Sheri Lansing
Setting: Present time Seattle, with little travel to the 1628 Highlands.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                 [spoiler alert]

No, just NO! – was my reaction when I finished Kilt-A-Licious. Initially, I thought it was going to be better than Kilt Worthy, but the pointless porny stuff made me wanna throw up. I mean I read erotica, even with kinky sex but there has to be some point in that kink, something... anything! But this had none, just like book 1.

Royal Bridesmaids ... Anthology

Friday, July 13, 2012

Royal Bridesmaids (anthology)

Stephanie Laurens
Gaelen Foley
Loretta Chase

Historical Romance
Pub date: 17 July, 2012 (ARC review)

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                      [spoiler alert]

Note that my review and rating is solely based on Gaelen Foley novella, “The Imposter Bride” (4 stars) and Loretta Chase novella, “Lord Lovedon’s Duel” (4 stars).

“The Imposter Bride”, Gaelen Foley

H/h - Prince Tor of Rydalburg/Minerva Messina of Saardova
Setting: In Saardova and Rydalburg, period!

Kilt Worthy by Catherine Bybee

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Kilt Worthy (novella)

Catherine Bybee
Contemporary Romance/Time Travel/Erotica
Published in 2009

H/h - Logan MacLaren/Jane Parker
Setting: Present time Seattle, with a brief visit to 1628 Highlands.

Read in July 2012.
My rating:
                            
                                                       [spoiler alert]

No, really, why the majority of the rating (in GR) for this novella is 4 or 5 star I have no idea. I’ve never read anything by Catherine Bybee before but have to say, this wasn’t impressive. Not even memorable. It had every ingredient that should’ve held me enthralled: big, burly and KILTED medieval highlander and it’s an erotica. Even then, it bored me to sleep, literally. The best thing IMO was, it ended soon so that I can move onto the next!

Beast by Maya Emmerich

Beast (novella)
A free installment

Maya Emmerich
Historical Romance/Fairytale
Published in 2012

H/h - The Prince (Beast)/Leonie Winters
Setting: Unsure.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:
           
                                                     [spoiler alert]

I’m not sure if this is the author’s first publication but I was disappointed. This freebie started out well enough… I’ve read a few books with Beauty and the Beast theme in different renditions and the storyline of this one intrigued me. But somewhere in the way not only I got overwhelmingly confused, but also, I found the ending was utterly frustrating!

Scandal Wears Satin by Loretta Chase

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Scandal Wears Satin
The Dressmakers #2

Loretta Chase
Historical Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Harry Fairfax, the Earl of Longmore/Sophia Noirot
Setting: London, 1835.

Read in July, 2012.
My rating:

                                                       [spoiler alert]

Sadly, Scandal Wears Satin was disappointing and I have more than one reasons for that. Initially, I liked Harry a lot, who reminded me quite a lot of Rupert from Mr. Impossible. But as the story went on, I got really frustrated where he was concerned. Whoa but he confused me like no other! I wasn’t really that impressed with Sophy in book 1, neither in this one. She was an OK heroine throughout. The story, in the middle, was dragging and bored me. Last but not the least, I grew tired of the numerous clothing related descriptions, with which I’m entirely unfamiliar, understand little and have no intentions of doing a research to find out.

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I'm a simple girl. I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. I also write, mostly songs/poems, though I'm not published. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

Labels

historical (501) contemporary (500) other authors (458) blog tour (441) book spotlight/promo (440) erotica (360) author giveaway (326) novella (218) paranormal (98) new adult (94) medieval (93) arc/copy netgalley-edelweiss (86) fantasy (84) highlander (57) freebie (55) cover reveal (51) requested review (49) western (40) guest post (29) elizabeth hoyt (23) time travel (23) charlotte featherstone (22) skye warren (22) anthology (20) loretta chase (20) gigolo (19) bonnie dee (18) teresa medeiros (16) virgin hero (16) sabrina jeffries (15) 5+stars (14) scottish (14) emily larkin (13) kerrigan byrne (13) carla kelly (12) kinley macgregor (12) tracy anne warren (12) anna campbell (11) pirate (11) alexa riley (10) carolyn jewel (10) elliot mabeuse (10) lisa kleypas (10) sherry thomas (10) gaelen foley (9) julia keaton (9) karyn gerrard (9) katy evans (9) ramona flightner (9) saskia walker (9) sylvain reynard (9) sylvia day (9) karen marie moning (8) debra anastasia (7) gina conkle (7) irish (7) judith mcnaught (7) pamela morsi (7) holly bush (6) jessica jefferson (6) julia quinn (6) karen ranney (6) linda broday (6) lorraine heath (6) maya banks (6) monica mccarty (6) scottie barrett (6) vikings (6) amy rose bennett (5) elizabeth elliott (5) judith james (5) laura lee guhrke (5) meredith duran (5) meta mathews (5) rl mathewson (5) sarah ballance (5) uncatagorized (5) charlotte stein (4) classic-fiction-poetry (4) courtney milan (4) lacey silks (4) loni lynne (4) mariana zapata (4) melanie marchande (4) roxy sloane (4) shelby reed (4) shoshanna evers (4) victoria hanlen (4) victoria roberts (4) wendy lacapra (4) alison richardson (3) alison shaw (3) anabelle bryant (3) barbara longley (3) biker (3) claire kent (3) deb marlowe (3) delphine dryden (3) diana bold (3) edie harris (3) eliza lloyd (3) elizabeth moss (3) eva gale (3) isadora rose (3) jackie barbosa (3) jenn langston (3) juliet dark (3) juliette miller (3) kresley cole (3) lana grayson (3) lauraine snelling (3) lisa valdez (3) lori brighton (3) lynsay sands (3) m/m (3) margaret mallory (3) petra march-petra f. bagnardi (3) rachel l. demeter (3) sarah maclean (3) summer devon (3) summer devon-kate rothwell (3) suzanne ferrell (3) victoria lynne (3) aileen mcnaughton (2) alianne donnelly (2) amber lin (2) annabel joseph (2) ashlyn macnamara (2) author spotlight/promo (2) becca dale (2) casey wilder (2) catherine bybee (2) catherine laroche (2) charming man (2) cynthia wicklund (2) debra glass (2) elise de sallier (2) elizabeth taylor george (2) emily bascom (2) erica taylor (2) evangeline anderson (2) evangeline collins (2) eve montelibano (2) evelyn pryce (2) janine ashbless (2) jayne blue-nina sharpe (2) jenika snow (2) jennifer mcquiston (2) kate mckinley (2) kitty thomas (2) laura frantz (2) leigh bale (2) lola rayne (2) margaret madigan (2) margo maguire (2) marie medina (2) marliss melton (2) marlow kelly (2) michelle diener (2) morgan o'neill (2) nancy haviland (2) natasha blackthorne (2) natasha storm (2) olivia fields (2) own (2) ramona gray (2) richard long (2) romantic suspense (2) roxy soule (2) sandra schwab (2) sci fi (2) silvia violet (2) sports (2) virginia henley (2) Sophie Dash (1) alissa johnson (1) ann clement (1) annika martin-carolyn crane (1) as fenichel (1) ashlyn montgomery (1) belle aurora (1) bn toler (1) character interview (1) cj archer (1) david meredith (1) dee tenorio (1) eliza gordon (1) elizabeth anthony (1) georgie lee (1) hannah fielding (1) ir (1) jessica wilde (1) julia london (1) lecia cornwall (1) lee debourg (1) lexy timms (1) lisa manuel-allison chase (1) lisa marie rice (1) lisa renee jones (1) lynne barron (1) mary jo putney (1) maureen mcmahon (1) robin schone (1) sydney jane baily (1) tarah scott (1) thriller (1) wendy lyn watson (1)

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation