Welcome to Punya Reviews... Please stay and enjoy! Read My Blog Policies for clarification of my ratings/disclaimer. If the goodreads widgets don't show properly, it's not my fault. ;) All of my reviews contain spoilers. If you don't like spoiler-ish reviews, please don't proceed.

I'm a ThyCa survivor since 2004


Click here to read my interview on Lady Scribes Blog!!

If you're a regular visitor at Punya Reviews..., read reviews, check out promos on new books and enter giveaways etc., please consider becoming a member of this blog, liking my page and follow me on twitter. It'd be of tremendous help for a blogger like me... :)

Brazen Behaviour by Saskia Walker

Monday, December 31, 2012

Brazen Behaviour (novella)

Saskia Walker
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2009

H/h - Gregory Munroe/Eleanor Argyle
Setting: Victorian era.

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:


                                                         [spoiler alert]
 
Brazen Behaviour by Saskia Walker is a very short story that you can read in about an hour or so if you aren’t a slow reader like me (which I am apparently these days *sigh*). This is mainly about a rebellious woman who wants to defy the conventions of the society but... but, she annoyed the hell outta me.

Powder of Love by Summer Devon

Friday, December 28, 2012

Powder of Love

Summer Devon
Historical Romance/Erotica
Publishe in 2011

H/h - Gideon Reed/Rosalie Ambermere
Setting: New York, 1880.

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:


                                                       [spoiler alert]

Note: I've read this book as Powder of Love, but now it has been re-issued as Powder of Sin. But I'm keeping the title I read this one as.

Powder of Love by Summer Devon delivers a fun story which took me by surprise. It had some laugh out loud moments that includes a powder of ‘love’ (or, aphrodisiac, of course!), with the lovable hero, Gideon and smart heroine, Rosalie. I probably would’ve enjoyed the story more if I wasn’t distracted by some RL aspects at the moment I was reading the book, but either way, this book was entertaining.

The Winter Wish by Jillian Eaton

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

The Winter Wish: A Regency Christmas Novella

Jillian Eaton
Historical Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Lord Devlin Heathcliffe/Sarah Kincaid
Setting: Regency era.

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:

                                                [spoiler alert]

I wasn’t fond of this novella, The Winter Wish by Jillian Eaton. Even if I leave the story, the characters were not interesting or even likable. I had hard time finishing it, and I did after I took sometimes away in the middle.

Highlander Claimed by Juliette Miller

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Highlander Claimed
Clan Mackenzie #1

Juliette Miller
Medieval Romance
Pub date: 18 Dec, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Wilkie Mackenzie/Roses (Stuart)
Setting: The Highlands, Scotland, in the time of King William III.

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:

                                                     [spoiler alert]

Let me start by telling you that Highlander Claimed was awesome. I’m the newest fan of Juliette Miller, not only because of the sexy characters she created but also because of her extraordinarily beautiful writing. It’s just not the prose, but the description of Highlands and the way she drew out the feelings of the characters, despite this book being a first person narrative from the heroine, Roses. I had no doubt about Wilkie’s love for her. His no-questions-asked obsession and devotion for Roses was so palpable, poor Roses had no chance of denying him a thing (think of me grinning like a lunatic here :D). Wilkie was not a tortured, brooding hero and yet, WOW! The intensity of his feelings for Roses just consumed the whole book.

But that’s just the way I saw the book and glad to say that it worked for me because I LOVED it!!

Dark by Teageen Syree

Friday, December 14, 2012

Dark (novella)

Teageen Syree
Contemporary Romance/Erotica (BDSM)
Published in 2011 [Requested review]

H/h - Rylan/Audree
Setting: Present time.

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:


                                                    [spoiler alert]

Dark by Teageen Syree is a very short, erotic novella. It was kinda hot and I liked it to a certain point. My review is in the following...

Behind the Red Door by Jackie Barbosa

Sunday, December 09, 2012

Behind the Red Door (anthology)
Ever After Novellas #2-4

Jackie Barbosa
Historical Romance/Erotica
Published in 2009

Read in Dec, 2012.
My rating:



                                                     [spoiler alert]

The rating (3.75 stars) is based on 3 stories, Wickedly Ever After (3.75), Scandalously Ever After (4) and Sinfully Ever After (3.5).

Behind the Red Door was a hot little anthology no doubt but my feelings are mixed about the stories, which I’ll try to elaborate in my review. But one thing I was sure of, that Jackie Barbosa is an excellent writer. I just loved her writing and her way with words. I’ll be checking out more of her books in the future.

“Wickedly Ever After”
 
H/h - Nathaniel St. Clair, the Marquess of Grenville/Eleanor Palmer
Setting: London, 1816.

Master of Love by Catherine LaRoche

Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Master of Love

Catherine LaRoche
Historical Romance
Pub date: Dec 4, 2012 (ARC review)

H/h - Dominick 'Dom' Avery, Viscount Rexton/Callista Higginbotham
Setting: London, 1847.

Read in  Dec, 2012
My rating:

                                                    [spoiler alert]

Master of Love is the debut novel by Catherine LaRoche and I can honestly say that ClR has won me as a fan! This book had witty banters, some good twists, a drop-dead gorgeous (and genius) hero and a smart-to-boots heroine who loves books! I had loads of fun. ClR’s writing is really good, flowing and her word play is excellent.

Checkmate by R. L. Mathewson

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Checkmate
A Neighbor from Hell #3

R. L. Mathewson
Contemporary Romance
Published in 2012

H/h - Connor O'Neil/Rory James
Setting: Present time.

Read in Nov, 2012.
My rating:

                                              [spoiler alert]

Hmm, what to write... what to write, hmmm... First of all, Checkmate was more of a disappointment for me. I spend at least 50% of it trying to like Rory and Connor really hard. I did enjoy here and there and sometimes their banters but mostly, it was hard for me to enjoy because no matter what, adults acting like kids, being insane and irresponsible, acting impulsively and not caring for other’s feelings is just not fun, certainly not for 300 or so pages. I’ve been thinking for the last 10 days about what to write in my review since the story was all over the place!

My Favorite Quotes

Me

My Photo
Punya
I love to read in my spare time and do reviews the books I read. My blog Punya Reviews just turned 6 in 2017 and still going strong. I love music and traveling. Sometimes, I wish I could live inside a book, having my own HEA. :)
View my complete profile

punyareviews.blogspot.com Webutation